1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

sporadic wireless connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brad_schl, Oct 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brad_schl

    brad_schl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    I'm connected to a wireless router using a Linksys 802.11b USB network adapter. And I've been experiencing a shotty connection and general difficulty using the internet.

    I believe though that I've discovered the source of many of my wireless problems. Though I'm at a loss to what to do to fix it.

    Using the program DU Meter, I've noticed that every minute or so there are holes in my download/upload graph. Everything goes along fine, then there is a sudden dip where everything goes to 0 kb/sec. Then after a second it returns back to normal speed.

    I'm really curious what this could be. I doubt that interference could be this regular and consistent. The span appears to be roughly 1 minute and 10 seconds or so.

    Any ideas?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    Could be interference from cordless phone or house alarm. Try changing the channel that the router broadcasts on. I have found this to be very effective for unstable wireless connections.
     
  3. brad_schl

    brad_schl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    I did have really bad trouble with a 2.4 ghz phone earlier, where it would fail enough to tell me I'd lost the connection. But removing that obviously fixed it.

    I don't think the phone I replaced it with is 2.4ghz, but I'll check.

    Also, how would I change the channel it broadcasts on, I didn't think that was possible.
     
  4. lemmonhead

    lemmonhead

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Try going to 192.168.1.1 and see if this is your routers home settings page. type admin for password
     
  5. 10forcash

    10forcash

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Had the same problem with a SMC wireless router, a firmware upgrade cured it, although they are suceptible to outside interference, replacing with a Cisco cured it altogether !!
    Cheers,
    10forcash
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173432

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice