Spreadsheet gridlines

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bj25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
36
Hello,
Using a spreadsheet in Microsoft Works and I want to eliminate the grid lines in the upper part but preserve the grid lines in the lower part. How do I accomplish this? There is data in both sections.
Thank you,
bj25
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
2,016
If it works anything like Excel, you are looking for "borders"...either on the toolbar or under Format.

Highlight the area you want bordered then choose the border that looks like a four-paned window (or a square made up of four squares).

Hope this helps,

MBN
 

bj25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
36
MBN,
I tried highlighting and using borders but that didn't eliminate the gridlines.
Thank you,
bj25
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
For viewing gridlines, choose Gridlines from the View menu (toggles on & off).

For printing gridlines, File -- Page Setup -- Other Options (toggles on & off, but is governed by the View setting).

Rgds,
Andy
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
2,016
Okay, maybe I need to clarify....in my Excel, print preview shows that I do not automatically show gridlines, so I selected a portion and chose the borders.

XLGuru can confirm or correct me on this, but if you select your area and give it borders, then toggle off gridlines, what will be left are the borders/gridlines only on the area that you have put them on manually.

XLGuru, does this sound right?

MBN
 

bj25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
36
Hello MBN
I tried highlighting and borders but the gridlines still print out in the entire spreadsheet. I've used "view" and "page setup" to no avail. I have Microsoft Works 4.5.
Thank you for your interest.
bj25
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
Hi bj25. The following info relates to Works 5 ; I doubt that 4.5 is much different.

You can't set it so that only some gridlines appear, regardless of whether you mean when viewing the sheet or printing it. You can only turn off all gridlines and then fake them being on in selected areas by using borders. Let's concentrate on what shows on-screen for starters

To make it appear that gridlines are only on in a certain area, select the area, then choose Border from the Format menu. On the Border tab of the Format Cells dialog, choose Light Gray for color and click in the Top, Bottom, Left and Right border boxes. Then click OK. If the rest of the gridlines are still visible, uncheck Gridlines on the View menu. The screen should then look like the attached.

Rgds,
Andy
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
Moving on to what prints ("the gridlines still print out in the entire spreadsheet").

Choose Page Setup from the File menu. You should get the dialog box shown below. Make sure the "Other Options" tab is uppermost. If "Print Gridlines" is checked, uncheck it. Then click OK.

Rgds,
Andy
 

Attachments

bj25

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
36
Hi Andy,
Thank you very much for your kind help. Your instructions were very clear and they worked.
I have been spending 3 hrs. every week-end on this project. I never would have thought of using the "light gray" color- or for that matter- the rest of the directions you gave.
Again, thank you!
Barbara
(bj25)
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Andy:

Kudos to you for always going above and beyond the call...

No wonder I admire you so much!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
2,702
>> going above and beyond the call

Well, in the first place, I just try. A fair amount of anything beyond that is that I don't like being (as in CAN'T STAND TO BE) beaten.

But to get "a nod" from a published author/media star/a (if not the) major player in this forum ; err ... :eek:

Rgds,
Andy
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
LOL! You're the perfect foil for me, Andy. Now, if you could just catch me in the number of posts...

Just checked. You only need on average about one post per day. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top