1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SPTD.sys

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by SaltyC, Jul 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SaltyC

SaltyC Thread Starter

First of all, since I'm new to techguy.org, I'd like to say hello to everyone here. :)

Now the problem:

I recently installed BEOS Personal edition 5. Problem is, it was supposed to boot inside windows XP which it did not. I created a boot disk (floppy) for it to boot from and install to my HD. When I booted from the floppy it looked like it was going to install but didnt. My computer restarted and I tried to boot back into XP but when I logged in, explorer would not start, nor would any other programs. So, I tried running explorer from taskmanager which I opened. Explorer still would not start. Then I ran msconfig and decided to set it to boot into safemode and remove any components BeOS had installed on my computer. When I rebooted into safemode, it seemed normal until the drivers started loading and I got an error message that said "Press esc to cancel loading SPTD.sys". I pressed esc and safeboot didnt continue.

Because I have Linux installed on my 2nd hard drive, I was able to boot up into SuSE and research SPTD.sys. It is associated with http://www.daemon-tools.cc/ (thing is, I've never heard of daemon tools in my life until now and to my knowledge downloaded any of there products!) I would follow the removal directions of http://www.greatis.com/security/What%20is%20SPTD%23%23%23%23.sys.htm but I cant delete sptd.sys from inside SuSE and I can't get to regedit. If it comes down to it I will reinstall XP but I'd like to see if anyone can help me. I'd appreciate any help that would help me get into safemode so I can remove those drivers and any trace of BeOS.

Salty

2. SaltyC