Spy program

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fresca75

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Messages
4
Hi, I downloaded a spy program to see what the kid has been up too. In fact, after purchasing it, it worked once. Now it seems to get hung up or doesn't respond when I try to run it. I have contacted the company, they keep telling me to download again, I go to the directory that they tell me too, but it still is not responding. I originally put it in my document file. Is this wrong? I am not a computer expert, but I follow instructions reaaaaaaal well. Can anyone tell me whether or not it is my error or the company's program that is a problem?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,255
Hiya

Can you tell us the name of the program and your OS? Also, is this the only program that hangs?

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
While answering Eddie, right click on my computer icon, choose performance tab, what does resources say? Some of those programs use a lot of space and resources.
 

fresca75

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Messages
4
Thanks for answering back. The program is called Program Spy v.1.1 and it is the only program that seems to get hung up. I am not quite sure what OS is so I assume that means my operating system. Havn't got a clue. How do I find that out? I am computer illit when it comes to alot of the tech terms. The program is put out by pcpeeker.com

Thanks for guiding this mom.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,255
Okay

For your OS, there are two ways. The easiest is when its booting up on startup, what does the splashscreen say? Windows 98 etc

Or, this way. Control Panel | System. General tab. it will be under System. Mine says:

Microsoft Windows 2000
5.00.2195
Service Pack 2

Its the first bit that we need.

Now, did you follow Doyce's idea about the rescources? The reason? Well, it may be a rescource problem, in that this is what can cause freezing of programs.

Also, try this. Go to Run and type MSINFO32
On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

Regards

eddie
 

fresca75

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Messages
4
Ok, yes I have Windows98. And here is the copy. The program shows up as Orec32. Here is what I have.

Monitor.exe Startup Group C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp\Monitor.exe
PalNetaware Startup Group C:\Paltalk\pnetaware.exe
MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe /background
Mirabilis ICQ Registry (Per-User Run) C:\Program Files\ICQ\NDetect.exe
Yahoo! Pager Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRA~1\YAHOO!\MESSEN~1\ypager.exe -quiet
RealJukeboxSystray Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\REAL\REALJUKEBOX\TSYSTRAY.EXE
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
RealTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
Adaptec DirectCD Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
CC2KUI Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Comet\Bin\comet.exe
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
zBrowser Launcher Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
EM_EXEC Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
WebCam III SetFirst Registry (Machine Run) webc3uns setfirst
WebCam Autolaunch Registry (Machine Run) webc3lch
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
webHancer Agent Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\webHancer\Programs\whAgent.exe"
OREC32 Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\pspy\orec32.exe
CreateCD Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\ADAPTEC\EASYCD~1\CREATECD\CREATECD.EXE -r
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe

I did do what Doyce said and it looks to me like I still have resources. Under the Windows98 program it also says IntelPentium 11 that 60percent resources free. I think I need to take some Computer courses just so I know what I am looking at. Thanks.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

There's some questionable stuff running, and it's slowing you down.

Do this:

Go to Start/run, and type msconfig.
On the Startup tab, uncheck EVERYTHING, EXCEPT for the following items

ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Adaptec DirectCD Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe

ICQ, MSMSG, and Yahoo are optional, for they can be started manually. You decide about your webcam.

Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot (important!)

Now go to Software add/remove and Webhancer Agent and Comet (cursor) if it's there.

Reboot AGAIN.

Download and install <A HREF="http://www.lavasoftusa.com/index.html">Ad-Aware</A> . This is a program which scans your system for spyware.

After having downloaded AAW, also download the latest Signature file (Reflist.sig) : http://www.lavasoftusa.com/ls/reflist.zip
Unpack it to the Lavasoft Ad-Aware folder in Program Files, and have it overwrite the one that's there.

Then have your drives and registry scanned for spyware, check all found files and reg keys, click continue, and have them removed.
Reboot one last time.

You'll be amazed about how much better your system will run.


Good luck,
 

fresca75

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Messages
4
Wanted to send a thanks to all of you who helped me with my problem. Everything is working much better after following the advice. You guys are great and I have added this forum to my favorites. Happy holidays to all.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
BTW- Be sure to keep an eye on where ever the program is storing the information and keep it cleaned out. If its a picture taking program, then it wont be long before it uses everything you have.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top