1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SpyBlocker/Burstnet.com

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by alpha24, Dec 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alpha24

    alpha24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Hi. Every time I visit this Forum my SpyBlocker starts beeping and repeatedly blocks www.burstnet.com and this is what comes-up when I put the address into my browser:---------------------------------------------------------------

    "Blocked URL: www.burstnet.com
    Resource: Default

    This page has been blocked by SpyBlocker due to security
    and Privacy concerns. Some Possible Reasons:


    Tracks or Profiles you.

    Gathers Private and Confidential Information from you.

    Installs software on your machine without your approval.

    Has Unsafe Content.

    No Content other than Advertisements and Popup windows.

    Contains a Possible Keylogger Program."

    I have not seen this block at any other time, only when I am here. Can anyone tell me why there is this apparent link between the Forum and Burstnet.? (11 blocks so far this visit.!!) Cheers, Alpha. :confused:
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,770
    Hiya

    I can take a guess and assume that you're in here when there are Adverts being shown. These are just sponsers of this site, and may be just cookies that are downloading onto your program.

    I'll PM Mike, and see if he has any ideas :)

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. TechGuy

    TechGuy Mike Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    13,263
    Yup, just cookies, I'm sure. Burstnet is a pretty big advertising agency that we've used for over 5 years.
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
    Just add www.burstnet.com to your hosts file and let it block the ads there and you will not get SpyBlocker popping up all the time bugging you on what it's blocking.
     
  5. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,061
    No. SpyBlocker's hosts file already includes www.burstnet.com. That's how SpyBlocker works.

    You don't literally mean your SpyBlocker is beeping, do you? I've used the program for years and AFAIK it has no audio alert feature.
     
  6. alpha24

    alpha24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks eddie,TechGuy and hewee. You,ve answered my question and I'm surprised I haven't come across this sort of advertising sponsoring before, as SpyBlocker's list of blocked URLs numbers 19947 items.!! To satisfy my curiosity, I intend to unblock this block (at least temporarily!!) and see what comes up.
    All Good Wishes for Christmas and the New Year, Alfred. (y)
     
  7. alpha24

    alpha24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Sorry md,I overlooked your posting somehow. I can assure you that my SkyBlocker is beeping a lot at the moment whilst I am on this site.The tray icon also flashes. The only other site which causes such activity is the notorious Nascar !! I posted the SkyBlocker forum about Burstnet.com and just received a couple of replies, which I thought might be of interest.----------------------------

    1)"Spyblocker is blocking ads (hosted by burstnet.com), that are located on the Tech Support Guy forum web site. Burstnet.com is also listed in the IE-Spyad restricted sites list, as well."
    2)"Burstnet.com is a part of BurstMedia, which is a tracking service. From a personal standpoint, I would leave it blocked. The only thing you are missing, anyway, is the ads."

    Burstnet doesn't seem to be very popular in some quarters.!!!! Cheers, Alpha.
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
  9. alpha24

    alpha24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Hi hewee. I forgot to tell you that Burstnet.com is already in my hosts list,as well as being one of the 19947 URLs in Spyblocker's blocked list. I'll try unblocking the Skyblocker entry and see if the hosts entry does the blocking, as you suggest. You will see from my reply to md that the SpyBlocker guys suspect that Burstnet is a tracking service which justifies blocking. Cheers, Alpha.
     
  10. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
    It should still block the sites from the hosts file. But they are ads and tracking cookies your get from Burstnet.com and who wants them so I would keep blocking them.

    I tell you cat some sites having the host file block ad site etc speeds the page load up many many times. Then the edexter helped speed things up more with having there own image that helps out even more with netscape.

    Special Note for Netscape users: eDexter will also eliminate the "hang" problem with Netscape. If you use Netscape, it will keep waiting for a response from the blocked servers in your hosts file longer than it should - which will delay the page loading. eDexter will prevent that by pretending to be the server that has been blocked and will "talk" to Netscape for it. Internet Explorer 5 and up does not usually exhibit this problem, but you can still benefit from eDexter's other uses.
     
  11. alpha24

    alpha24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    49
     
  12. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,816
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/306896