1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Spybot, and Ad-aware

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by chuck-HD, Aug 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    :confused: Hi,
    I've heard that Spybot S&D, andAd-AwareSE are becoming ineffective. Also, they should be uninstalled and better programs
    downloaded. Has anyone heard this to be true? If so, what
    other programs are available. I have Win 98SE.
    chuck.:eek:
     
  2. jdemnyan1116

    jdemnyan1116

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    849
    I went to a site that pits antivirus and spyware and adware programs against each other. Spybot ranked high on the chart and adware also ranked high. Not number 1 but pretty close. Spysweeper ran high but a few things Spybot picked up that sweeper did not. Its your own preference. Spybot and adware are free, most of the top ones you need to buy.
     
  3. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hi,
    Thanks for the information. I've never had a problem with them
    but as i said before, they said they were on their way out. I wanted to know if anyone else had heard that?
    Thanks again, chuck, Long time Steeler Fan(y) (y)
     
  4. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hi,
    Here's the article i was told about. Have you ever seen it?

    http://www.adwarereport.com/mt/archives/000208.html
     
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    The 46 Best-ever Freeware Utilities

    http://www.techsupportalert.com/best_46_free_utilities.htm

    Best to keep both Chuck because anti-spyware is like anti-virus programs and no two are the same or find the same things on your PC.
    Best thing to do is stay safe and not get anything on you PC and your never have anything to clean up.
    Get a router, a good firewall like ZA Pro, AV, spyware blaster, winpatrol and a good hosts file.
    Then when you run you anti-virus, anti-spyware programs you should never find anything.

    So look over this site on the best free software.
     
  6. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hi, I have sygate firewall that seems to
    work fine, and other programs as well. I'll check out the link you provided. What is a host file? Do i need a router with only one computer? Thanks for all your info, you're always there to help.
    chuck.
     
  7. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Good to hear because you want control on what programs can get out of your PC with a firewall.

    Blocking Unwanted Parasites with a Hosts File
    http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm

    I block out 54,138 sites with my hosts file. :D
    They are ad sites, tracking sites and many bad sites.
    You can also speed up page loads because it does not have to go out and get the ads.
    Was using edexter that would place a small icon size image in place of the ad but with netscape you needed it because of the way netscape works it keeps trying to load the link for the ad so slows thing down But with edexter it fools netscape into thinking it downloaded the ad image by using it's own image so it speeds up page loads.
    On firefox, IE if a site is block it does not act the same way so the page just loads even it the ads are blocked.
    I use HostMan now with firefox.

    Yes a router is a good thing to have no matter hook you get online or if you only have one PC.
    It also acts as a hardware firewall. Makes it so your PC is hard to find. Your get less hits on your firewall log from things too.

    Go here https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 and run the Shields UP! test.
    Your see the "ShieldsUP!! Services" bar and the buttons below it. Click each button and run the test.
    The ports ones you want to have it so your "Stealth" on all ports. If your "Stealth" on all ports the Your system has achieved a perfect "TruStealth" rating and if a port is Stealth" There is NO EVIDENCE WHATSOEVER that a port (or even any computer) exists at this IP address!

    I got my firewall so no one can ping me too.
    Here is the test on all ports.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2006-08-31 at 22:57:01

    Results from scan of ports: 0-1055

    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
    1056 Ports Stealth
    ---------------------
    1056 Ports Tested

    ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.

    TruStealth: PASSED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
    - NO unsolicited packets were received,
    - NO Ping reply (ICMP Echo) was received.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    So no one knows that this PC is even here.
     
  8. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    One more thing Chuck when you do get a router you have to reless all and renew all by going to run and typing Ipconfig or on 98 go you can use Winipcfg.
    You got to do the same thing again it you take the router away.
     
  9. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hi hewee,
    I have a firewall it's by Sygate. It's a freebie but seems to work quite well. I'll look over the sites you listed and see what they
    say. Thanks,
    chuck.(y)
     
  10. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    I know you have a firewall. Was just saying you want a good one and not one like windows XP has that does nothing for any thing wanting to get out of your PC.

    But read up ok because a router helps out a lot by hiding your PC. Then blocking sites with a hosts file is great too.

    I use hpHOSTS hosts file.
    http://www.hosts-file.net/phpbb2/
    http://www.hosts-file.net/downloads.html
     
  11. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hi Again hewee,
    I was wondering if you could recommend any of those host files,
    and do they give good explanation on how to set them up?
    When it comes to that kinda stuff I'm usually fairly lost.
    chuck:confused:
     
  12. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Thanks again hewee, looks like i have some reading to do.
    chuck.
     
  13. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    It's all really easy chuck so if you want to know more just ask.

    I seen you posted a desktop picture in the desktop thread.
    You are on dial-up right. If so your love the added speed your get from having a hosts file.
     
  14. chuck-HD

    chuck-HD Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,914
    Hi hewee,
    I'm getting the nack of posting an image, but sometimes when i explain things i get my mix all talked up.
    Thanks Again for your help.
    chuck.
     
  15. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Hi chuck,
    What I was meaning in the about post about your image is the modem by the clock I seen.
    That is why I asked you if your on dial-up?

    Any how I got more for yea. :D

    This thread here http://www.dozleng.com/updates/index.php?showtopic=10954&hl= and Post #8

    That will take you to the same site where you can test your ports.

    Steve has a new Security Now! episode each week
    http://www.grc.com/SecurityNow.htm

    You can read or listen to him. Got 6 formats to pick from too.

    Episode #45 is about the hosts file and thereare others on router and more at his site.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/497036

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice