spybot finds

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Hi, for a couple of weeks now I'm finding the following results when using SpyBot:

advertising.com
avenue A.inc
commision junction
fast click
value click

I keep fixing it and they dessapear, but after a couple of days they are back again.
Is there a way to find out where they come from, and how to prevent them from appearing again?

Thank you in advance
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,149
Download Spyware Blaster here .

You can also set the "Immunize" section of Spybot to block many of these.
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Thank you DEKE, I d/l and will install shortly. That taken care of, how do I find where do they come from?
If it is a program I use, I'll be more than ready to get rid of it.

Regards
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,149
Some of them come from specific programs but the way I understand it they mostly come from surfing the net.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
Sebastian.........also download "Spywareguard" from the same site.

;)
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
Hello $teve and I apoligize for the delay in answering.
I d\l and installed SG as you adviced, but I still find

Advertising,com
Avenue A.inc
Fast Click

when runing Spy Bot. I clean them every time, but I'd like to know where do they come from so I can prevent them from being loaded.
My surfing is quite clean for what I read. I don't look for porn, nor do I go to warez or hackers places. Mainly I chack Email, read the news and frequent a simHQ forum.
Is there a way to find out what is infecting my machine?

regards
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,149
Most like that are fairly harmless. They come from many sites you wouldn't think of. You could add them to your restricted sites like in this image and see if that helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
6,149
Pons-Open Spywareblaster and be sure you have those three checked and have clicked "Protect against checked Items" and you should be covered. Here is one thing I found in the help section:

"For spyware/tracking cookie protection to work, you must have Internet Explorer 6 or above."
 

pons

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Messages
354
DEKE, thank you. I put them in the restricted sites. I'll check periodically to see if they recurr.
sebastian pons
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
87
Whenever I would log onto this site, Spybot would pop up and tells me that Avenue A wants to load. It refered to it as malicious. I then would say no and Spybot would exclude it. Then, I went to my AdSubtract utility and added Avenue A to my filter list and voila, no more Avenue A.

Chuck
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top