SpyBot starts up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

missfuffy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2000
Messages
317
This AM, as soon as I booted, I got this message that SPYBOT S&D was
checking my system. I could only get it to stop by pressing Control,
Alt and Delete.
Is there a SpyBot setting that I can get to to STOP SPYBOT from starting as soon as I boot up my system? Where is it? How do I get to it and how do I get rid of it? I never got this before.... thanks, missfuffy
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2000
Messages
217
If you go to 'Settings' on the left panel and then 'settings', under 'system start' there is a box beside 'Automatically run program at system startup'. Make sure it is not checked. I think it is unchecked by default. Hope that helps.
 

missfuffy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2000
Messages
317
Went there.. there was NO check in 'Automatically run program at system startup'. So, I guess something else is taking over and having SpyBot do a check of the system at boot.... I will have to keep looking.... missfuffy
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2000
Messages
217
An afterthought: check in msconfig - startups and see if anything related has been added there.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2004
Messages
105
Have been having similar probs with Spybot myself for some weeks!

Every time i double click it, it just starts scanning all the files, goes through it's motions for about 15 minutes, then closes!
I never have the oppurtunity to change any settings at all!
Even if i go through Programs/s&d/ . . then click on either Advanced or easy mode, same thing happens!
Have uninstalled & reinstalled it 4 times now, SAME THING EACH TIME!!!

Anyone???
 

missfuffy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2000
Messages
317
I think I might just get rid of Spybot -- too many settings and too many things that go cookoo. Plus, very short on Updates. I thinnk I will stay with Adaware and get to
SpyKiller. First I have to find it... good luck, missfuffy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top