1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Spyware Blaster

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Brooking, Jan 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Brooking

    Brooking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I've installed Spyware Blaster on my Windows 8 computer using Chrome as my browser. An icon has been installed on my desktop but when I click it nothing happens. When I look in "uninstall programs" it does not appear. In Bellarc Advisor it is listed under Software
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Hi and welcome

    So I take it that it's not listed under Programs and Features?

    What does the icon look like? is their a filename to it? Example: spywareblastersetup46
     
  3. Brooking

    Brooking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    The icon is spyware Blaster's standard shortcut icon. When expanding the location info on the desktop icon it says "spyareblaster(C:)Programs File(x86)\Spyware Blaster)". You are correct in surmising that it is not listed under Programs
     
  4. Brooking

    Brooking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    To expand on my problem with Spyware Blaster. When I said "nothing happens" when I click on SB not only does it not respond, it freezes my computer so that I can't start any program nor can I get out of Desktop. The only way out is to shut off computer manually with the On-Off switch.
    I notice on another thread that it seams that BP does not support Chrome. I find this difficult to believe because I used it on my previous computer with Windows 7.
     
  5. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    According to their website, Spyware Blaster is compatible with Windows 8. It doesn't sound like it installed properly though.
    Since it's not listed in your Programs I suppose that rules out uninstalling it. You could try to re-download and install SpywareBlaster over-the-top of your old installation and see if that works.
     
  6. Brooking

    Brooking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Cheeseball81 Thanks for taking an interest. The 1st thing I did was to try to install it over the original. Same result.
     
  7. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Which download location are you choosing from?

    SpywareBlaster 4.6 from Download.com

    or

    SpywareBlaster 4.6 from MajorGeeks
     
  8. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    I noticed on March 1 they released a newer version of Spyware Blaster. Was your issue ever resolved?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Spyware Blaster
  1. jennys95
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    709
  2. rjay13
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    314
  3. dano_61
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    947
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084707

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice