1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sry for dumb question...BIOS?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PunkPyro912, Feb 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PunkPyro912

PunkPyro912 Thread Starter

im new to computers and i was wondering what BIOS is. I see it mention repeatedly on this forumn and i never knew what it meant :eek: Anyway also ive heard that you can get into it and change it or mess with settings or something? The more info the better, Thanks in advance...

2. griffinspc

griffinspc

BIOS
    bīยดōs) Acronym for basic input/output system, the built-in software that determines what a computer can do without accessing programs from a disk. On PCs, the BIOS contains all the code required to control the keyboard, display screen, disk drives, serial communications, and a number of miscellaneous functions.
    The BIOS is typically placed in a ROM chip that comes with the computer (it is often called a ROM BIOS). This ensures that the BIOS will always be available and will not be damaged by disk failures. It also makes it possible for a computer to boot itself. Because RAM is faster than ROM, though, many computer manufacturers design systems so that the BIOS is copied from ROM to RAM each time the computer is booted. This is known as shadowing.

Yes you can change settings, flash the BIOS, etc. but it's the one area you don't mess with unless you know what you're dioing.

Many modern PCs have a flash BIOS, which means that the BIOS has been recorded on a flash memory chip, which can be updated if necessary.