1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SSD/HDD problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Havikri, Mar 20, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Havikri

    Havikri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    So i installed a new ssd inti my computer but whenever i plug my HDD in to my pc in the secondary slot it will not show up in my bios and or my computer so i can use it for space
    It's driving me nuts!
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,547
    Are you sure you've enabled the SATA port on your motherboard within the BIOS; the one your HDD is plugged into for the secondary slot?
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,215
    First Name:
    Allan
    Did you clone the OS from the HDD to the SSD ? What OS is it ?
     
  4. Havikri

    Havikri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Not sure how to do that im gonna have to do look it up
     
  5. Havikri

    Havikri Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Windows 10 on my SSD used Dave's boot and nuke on the hdd a long tine ago
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,215
    First Name:
    Allan
    Does the HDD show up in Disk Management ?
     
  7. savvtcinsif

    savvtcinsif

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    HDD cannot show up on disk. because it belong to external
     
  8. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,547
    I'm confused. You mentioned in your first post the HDD isn't showing up in the second slot in your PC, but now you're stating it's an external drive?
     
  9. savvtcinsif

    savvtcinsif

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    I think it's like a portable HDD. But if it is HDD that inside the computer. then I think he makes a wrong setup. You keep the HDD on its position then put SSD on Drive ( if you don't want to use drive anymore) then it's ok.
     
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,295
    That post was not made by the original poster but someone else who's trying to help.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,295
    I don't know why this was posted in the Software Development forum so I'll move it to Hardware.
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,483
    I am confused as well;
    1
    What exactly are you connecting ie external drive or internal drive?
    2
    OK, DBAN wipes a drive ie there is noting on the drive. It is in the same condition as new [excepting for physical wear of the drive] Any drive that has been wiped, is not going to show up in explore or my computer. It will show in disk management however it will be unallocated.
    Post a screenshot of disk management with the relevant drive connected.
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,295
    Chuck, that post was not made by the original poster but someone else who is trying to assist them. The original poster is Havikri and they have never stated anything about it being a portable or external drive. He said he installed an SSD into his computer.
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,483
    OK, thanks. I will wait until the original poster responds.
     
  15. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    112,295
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1224732

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice