1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SSD in caddy - what can I do?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by OM2, Jun 19, 2017 at 11:36 AM.

Advertisement
  1. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    I've got one lying around somewhere... the CD drive caddy... in which you add an SSD and replace your CD drive.

    Dumb question: what can I do with this?
    Can I have another copy of the Windows?
    Can I have Linux and multiple boots?

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    35,640
    Sure.
    Just wondering why not install the ssd as an internal drive without the caddy?
     
  4. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    so that i can have 2 systems :)
    it's a brilliant concept
    just haven't tried. seen lots for sale for dirt cheap prices.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    35,640
    There is not anything you could do with the drive in a caddy that would not be possible with the drive installed as a normal internal drive. The only thing the caddy does is give you easy/quick access to the drive. It is not like you are going to install it in another system because it will not boot, windows activation would not work, etc. Linux you could move the drive to another system and it would most likely work just fine.
     
  6. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    754
    aaah... see... i'm happy i didn't waste time :)
    this was my only intention of having another drive that i could actually boot into and run an OS. ok... i don't need windows (would be nice if i could)
    if i could just have linux - i would be super happy.

    but just confused WHY?
    wouldn't you just choose to boot from the CD drive - and then it would just boot up from the hard drive you have installed in there?

    let me know
    thanks
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1191721