SSD Migration Help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

zacii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
Messages
13
Good morning everyone,

I've bought Samsung SSDs before, and used Samung's Migration software to clone and replace HDDs in two different desktops.

I bought a 500 GB Samsung SSD to replace the 1 TB HDD in my 6 year old HP Envy Dv6 laptop.

I've tried three times to do the clone, but each time I have problems.

Here are some pictures of the error messages that I'm getting.

I didn't think that I would have problems going from a larger HDD to a smaller SSD, since the amount of data that I'm trying to clone is about 350 GB.

Any ideas for help?

20180719_135251.jpg 20180718_172507.jpg
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,135
How exactly did you do the clone? From what I can find, your laptop only has a single hard drive bay.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,135
That may be why you have problems. Try making an image of your current drive using acronis true image; store the image on an external drive, NAS, network share, etc. Once done, shutdown and pull your drive out. Install the ssd. Boot with the acronis boot usb and restore the image to the ssd.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,135
BTW I have used the samsung data migration tool many times however I have never attempted to use it with a usb/external.
 

zacii

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2018
Messages
13
I used the same USB connector for the other drives that I cloned, and everything worked fine.

I'll try your suggestion. If Acronis will let me do it without buying their software.

I'm unsure of how to go about using the Acronis boot usb to restore the image to the SSD.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,135
Another option would be to backup whatever data files you need and just clean install windows on the ssd. While this is some work, it is another option if you cannot restore an image.
Note there are free imaging programs however I have not used a free one in quite some time.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,198
Try making an image of your current drive using acronis true image; store the image on an external drive, NAS, network share, etc. Once done, shutdown and pull your drive out. Install the ssd. Boot with the acronis boot usb and restore the image to the ssd.
That's how I did it on my HP G6 .....
Acronis is on sale for $9.99 after MIR ... Promo code EMCPWRP62
expires 7/26

Install Acronis > Make a Boot disc > Remove Acronis > run Acronis from the boot disc
Make an Image > restore the SSD from the image.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,198
I'm unsure of how to go about using the Acronis to restore the image to the SSD.
Install the SSD > insert the boot disc > start the g6 > tap esc until you have a choice > choose to boot from the CD.
First .... Tools > Add a New Disc > choose the SSD.
Then ... restore the SSD from the Image
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,135
Just my opinion however I do all imaging/restoring from the boot disk. This removes windows from the issue [the acronis boot disk is actually a version of linux]
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top