Solved Ssd or ram?

Diannakay

hi,
I have adell insiron 17 3793 laptop, I am a photographer so do all my editing on it, I use photoshop and lightroom open at the same time and these are other heavy programs.
My laptop has only 8gb ram and 128gb SSD pls had memory.
I find my laptop works so and these programs are not woking fast.
My laptop is only 1 year old.

I would like to know if anyone has advice for me?
Would it help me to get an external SSD hard drive to work of?
Or is it better for me to upgrade my ram from 8gb to like 32 gb?
Or should I do both of these upgrades?
Or am I best of buying a new laptop eventhough it is only 1 year old?
Thankd

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Welcome to the forum, @Diannakay

In order to understand better what we are dealing with here, please download and run the TSG System Information Utility on the affected PC, and then post the results back to this thread.

Once we have that information, we can ascertain the best way forward for you.

Diannakay

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 19042, Installed 20210525164018.000000+180
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 126 Stepping 5, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 8 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce MX230
Hard Drives: C: 99 GB (37 GB Free); D: 931 GB (751 GB Free);
Motherboard: Dell Inc. 0C9WH2, ver A00, s/n /39W6G13/CNCMC0001L0073/
System: Dell Inc., ver DELL - 20170001, s/n 39W6G13
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

Diannakay

This is what came up...
Anyone know if I'm best of buying an external SSD hard drive or upgrading my ram to 32gb? Or both?

Thank you

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
I'd suggest a Samsung 500gb SSD for your main drive and possibly more RAM
The only speed difference I notice ... The SSD will initially load Photoshop and/or Premier alot faster.
Operating speed is about the same.