stalling

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sewdeb1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
16
HELP!! When I am on the internet, I stop receiving, then start after a minute, then stall again, over and over. I have a new hard drive.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
sewdeb......could you post your system specs if possible,it gives us a little more insight into your problem.... and o/s(what version of windows your using?)
thanx;)
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Yes, and how do you connect to the internet? Dial up, cable, DSL?
Del
 

sewdeb1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
16
uhm, My mother posted about the problem, this is her son. But she wanted me to post system specs. Basically the problem is we can connect w/ no problems, but random stalling. Most of the time you'll stay on for few minutes, then itll stall(stall = stay connected with no data sending/recieving). Also I use 56k dialup w/ earthlink.net. I tried reinstalling Earthlink software, I tried using only My Connection for a dialup setup, I tried using a different Dial-Up number. This started when I replaced my fatally old hard drive. At the same time I got a new modem(as posted below). I think it COULD be modem drivers but I cant find any for my specific modem. Also maybe TCP/IP setup.

MODEM: U.S. Robotics 56k PCI Software Modem(with S10=255 for added stability code)

OPERATING SYSTEM: Win 98 2nd Edition

Other: Pentium III 550, 256 RAM

Anything else?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi sewdeb1,
I know it is frustrating but hang on a little longer. People here would rather research and answer correctly than answer immediatly with the wrong answer. Have you emptied your temporary internet files late?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Hiya

Have you tried a repair?

Control panel | AddRemove. Doubleclick Microsoft Internet Explorer. Choose Repair, apply and restart.

Regards

eddie
 

sewdeb1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
16
That could be it, but I doubt it. I play MMORPG and FPS games alot when Internet Explorer isnt running. It still stalls when im playing those.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Ah, so it stalls on and offline....

Have you defragged lately? Also, whats your startup content like? Run and type MSINFO32. On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list.

Regards

eddie
 

sewdeb1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
16
Answering some of your questions:

Ah, so it stalls on and offline....

I think you mean the COMPUTER is stalling. No, my INTERNET CONNECTION is stalling. I can keep connected but no data sends or recieves. My computer runs fine.

Have you defragged lately?
9 days ago.

I tried repairing IE 5 but while it was scanning for errors to repair it kept trying to run grpconv.exe about 1/4 through the IE scan. grpconv.exe wouldnt run...some fatal error. So anyways, I figured IE was pretty screwed up. I downloaded IE 6, ran the setup, all was well. I had to reboot. AGAIN when it was it was updating system settings in windows it tried to run grpconv.exe about a billion times. Each time it couldnt because of some fatal error kept closing it down. So I had to shutdown, load windows in Safe mode and turn off my startup items just so I could run windows.

I dont why it would want to run that. Isnt that for converting win 3.1 files or something? Anyways, this is confounding me. I finally have IE6 running but it still stalls constantly.

Let me reboot and give you my startup items since I disabled them all. Be back in a bit.
 

sewdeb1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
16
VistaSync Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Vista Link\VistaSync.exe"
EarthLink ToolBar 5.0 Startup Group "C:\Program Files\EarthLink 5.0\etoolbar.exe"
reminder-ScanSoft Product Registration Startup Group "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\Config\Ereg\REMIND32.EXE"
Internet Answering Machine Startup Group "C:\Program Files\CallWave\IAMSETUP.EXE" -start
run Win.ini hpfsched
AIM Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
PPWebCap Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCANSOFT\PAPERPORT\PPWebCap.exe
BMUpdate Registry (Per-User Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BMUpdate.exe
UpdateMgr.exe Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\EARTHLINK 5.0\UPDATEMGR.EXE" /NOCM
ConMgr.exe Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\EARTHLINK 5.0\CONMGR.EXE"
KAZAA Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\MORPHEUS\MORPHEUS.EXE /SYSTRAY
3dfx Task Manager Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\3dfx Interactive\3dfx Tools\Apps\3dfxMan.exe"
3dfx Tools Registry (Machine Run) rundll32.exe 3dfxCmn.dll,CMNUpdateOnBoot
OneTouch Monitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\VISION~1\ONETOU~2.EXE
APVXDWIN Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Titanium\APVXDWIN.EXE" /s
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme


Here it is. Its kinda long, but its on NORMAL setup, so it loaded everything. I dont usually have all of these things in startup. If anything looks wierd I can get rid of it.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,282
Ah Ha!!

Just having a quick look. We may have a reason, but I'll go though the lot. The reason why I said your computer is that you said you play games when IE is off.

VistaSync: Included in VistaScan are VistaAccess and VistaShuttle. VistaAccess gives you quick and easy access to scanning functions right from your desktop. For Windows users, you'll see a scanner icon in the Windows Tray of the Taskbar. Click this icon and a menu opens. Not required

EarthLink ToolBar 5.0: EarthLink Toolbar is a tool to help you get to all of the resources of the internet. EarthLink 5.0 Setup adds a few basic buttons to the Toolbar, but you can delete these or add more buttons any time. Not required

reminder-ScanSoft Product Registration: your printer Registration. Dunno

Internet Answering Machine: From Callwave. It offers a free utility to monitor your incoming phonecalls if you only have a single telephone line for internet access

run Win.ini hpfsched: HPFSCHED is a small TSR that will remind you to clean the cartridges in your DeskJet from time to time in order to keep print quality high. It can be removed from the run line in win.ini if you do not want that feature. Not required

AIM: AOL Instant Messager. If connected to the internet, automatically runs up AIM. Convenience more than anything. AIM can be started from Start -> Programs

PPWebCap: "Paper Port" software associated with scanners. Not required

BMUpdate:

UpdateMgr.exe: Once a month, your EarthLink 5.0 Update Manager contacts EarthLink's servers to check for software updates. If an update is available for your EarthLink software, Update Manager will inform you and, with your permission, download and install the update. Not required. Can go to http://www.earthlink.net and download the updates manually

ConMgr.exe: Starts WinFax Pro at startup. Required for Winfax to answer incoming faxes. You decide

KAZAA: Spyware. Go here and download AddAware. Install and run it, ensuring that deep registry scan is enabled. Remove all except Web3000 or new.net. www.lavasoftusa.com
You may want to uninstall Kazaa first.

Use a program called Morpheous. Its the same, but not spyware.

3dfx Task Manager: System tray application for 3dfx Voodoo 3/4/5 functions. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

3dfx Tools: Updates the registry with information that can't be held for later 3dfx Voodoo video cards, ie Voodoo 3/4/5. Important for owners of these cards

OneTouch Monitor: For Visioneer OneTouch scanners. System tray access to the control panel for the scanner. If unavailable via Start -> Programs

APVXDWIN: Antivirus. Keep

ScanRegistry: keep

TaskMonitor: The Task Monitor the disk-access patterns of programs when they are started and stores this information in log files in the Applog folder. Task Monitor also records the number of times you use a program. The Disk Defragmenter tool uses this information to optimize your hard disk so that programs that you use frequently are loaded faster. Not required - but can be useful

SystemTray: keep

LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. Keep

StillImageMonitor: If your scanner does not have a button to initiate scanning you kill stimon. Even if it does have a button, you can still manually launch the scanning application. If unavailable via Start -> Programs

Okay. For the ones that you don't want, go to run and type MSCONFIG. Startup tab. Uncheck all you don't want, apply and restart. If you're unsure, do seperately, but apply and restart each time.

Uninstall Kazza and then run AddAware.

Regards

eddie
 

sewdeb1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
16
Well I got rid of the snoopware. Didnt seem to keep my internet connection from stalling. What next?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top