1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Staples SP9106 Monitor Turns On Then Display Dies; Lather, Rinse, Repeat.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheGuyThatNeeds, Mar 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheGuyThatNeeds

    TheGuyThatNeeds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Ok..

    I just recently received a used monitor from a relative to replace my current one. It is a Staples SP9106, I'm gonna say 17' monitor. It did not come with a power cord, so I found one that seemed to match the plug and set up the monitor. Turn on my computer, turn on the monitor and viola, the monitor works!..... For all of 4 seconds, then the screen goes black and the power light for the monitor stays on. I don't know what's wrong. Perhaps I need a different power cord? The one I'm using plugs in loosely, but doesn't fall out or anything. I jsut figured that the wrong kind of power cord would not turn the monitor on.

    I've attempted changing the settings, like brightnesws, on the monitor, but it shuts off before I can access the menu, and when I turn the monitor back on it's gone and will not let me access it's manual display settings anymore. Restarting does not seem to work either. The monitor I'm using shows no problems, so I can safely assume it's not the graphics card, and everywhere I look I can't find drivers for this particular monitor.. So can anyone help me?
     
  2. arknorth

    arknorth

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,095
    What you have is a rebadged AOC (Admiral) Envision monitor, which had those problems - I had one on the floor at Staples with the same power issues. It's pretty much a dead monitor, since what is going on is a breakdown of its internal processors. Sorry, but it's junk.

    Now, mind you, it does take a specific voltage AC Adaptor power source. What did you use in place of the lost one? Any voltage listings?

    A-N
     
  3. TheGuyThatNeeds

    TheGuyThatNeeds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Reading directly off the little box thingy; and yes, that is the technical term:

    Leader Electronics Inc
    Class 2 Power Supply
    Model No.: T481210RO3CT
    Input: 120VAC 60Hz 24W
    Output: 12VDC 1.0A

    Other than that, idk.
     
  4. arknorth

    arknorth

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,095
    That's the correct voltage, and the unit would not have started that one time if the polarity was wrong.

    From your initial description, it sounds very much like the beastie that I described. We would unplug it for a day or two, then plug it back in and it would run like a charm. Then it would simply act as if it overheated and shut off. It has to do with that power jack and the processor board its attached to. If you say that plugging it in it felt loose, then I suspect that the internal jack that it mounts to has become unsoldered (much like what happens to laptop power jacks - too much heat and they become loose). There might be just enough connection there to light up the power light.

    A-N
     
  5. TheGuyThatNeeds

    TheGuyThatNeeds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    So basically what you're saying is the thing isn't receiving enough power because it's damaged/old/faulty and that it MIGHT work sometimes but in the overall its garbage? Oh well, I guess you get what you pay for. Stupid of me to get my hopes up.

    Thank you very much, you've been a huge help.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/910468