1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Starcraft 2 frames per second are super low

Discussion in 'Games' started by McWuffles, Feb 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. McWuffles

    McWuffles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hey all, I've recently got back into starcraft 2 and after updating the game to its newest state and trying to play I was consistently getting 1-10 fps whenever there was even a small fight. I was wondering if this was just a game issue but after trying several games and using a benchmarker test I was still getting seriously low fps. I have done many things to trouble shoot such as:
    1) updating my nvidia graphics driver (GeForce 540m for a XPS 15 laptop)
    2) adjusting my graphics settings either way to see if it changed anything
    3) Trying to use my integrated graphics instead
    4) uninstalling and reinstalling starcraft
    5) I did a rough job of cleaning out the fans
    6)I tried overclocking to see if that made a difference(I maybe got 10-15 fps)
    7) Defragging my hard drive
    8) Virus scan(Windows security essentials)
    9) CCleaner

    I also tried monitoring my temperature of it using msi Afterburner and even after having it try to run medium to ultra graphics through a benchmark test the max temperature was only around 76 degrees celsius.
    So as of right now the game is barely playable and if anyone has any ideas as to what my problem would be it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 5036 Mb
    Graphics Card: 2048MB GeForce GT 540M (Dell)
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 700301 MB, Free - 360721 MB; E: Total - 14999 MB, Free - 6703 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0NJT03
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    That would be why.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,083
    First Name:
    James
    Care to elborate? :)
     
  4. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Ok. You can play it, but it's not really designed for a game like SC2. The GT series was made for light to moderate gaming, not something as intensive as SC2. You'd need a GTX series for that.
     
  5. McWuffles

    McWuffles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Starcraft 2 is not really that intensive of a game. Either way, I got the game when it first came out and I was able to run it on high graphics that entire time but just as of recently it has been giving me 5-10fps even on low
     
  6. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Ahh.. Ok. That gives me a better idea of what's going on.

    What version of the video card drivers were installed before you updated? Also, where did you get the updated drivers?
     
  7. McWuffles

    McWuffles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I never wrote down the exact number but I'm currently on driver version 314.07. However, I updated after I discovered this problem and it still didn't change so I'm not sure if the driver is the problem.
     
  8. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Did you update your laptop's chipset drivers, too?
     
  9. McWuffles

    McWuffles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I'm currently updating all my devices through the device manager which include my chipset drivers. I'll update when finished
     
  10. McWuffles

    McWuffles Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Well it's just what I thought would happen. Updated all my drivers yet still the same. Any other ideas?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Starcraft frames second
  1. LaNiFN
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    157
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090525

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice