1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Starship Titanic will not install on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Games' started by froovyjosie, Jul 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. froovyjosie

    froovyjosie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Hi! So I've been trying to install that beautiful classic, Starship Titanic on my laptop but it won't work (I have Windows 7)! The little box with "install Starship Titanic" comes up just fine, but when I press the "Install" button, nothing happens. The little box closes and the installer is running, but nothing comes up (the box thingy on the bar is there, but nothing else on the screen). I've tried changing the compatibility to Windows 98 and I even tried to replace the DLL thingy (sorry... I'm not articulating this well haha!). I tried to patch it using the stuff from the ST website, but since it isn't installed it won't let me patch it straight onto the disc. It's really frustrating since I'm useless with computers. Please help me! :D

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    This is a very old program written for Windows 95 so I doubt you will get it to work. You could try installing Windows 95 onto a seperate partition but you may have trouble finding the correct drivers for your PC to install with it.

    The only other thing you could try is to install Windows 7 XP mode from here, http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/download.aspx

    You cannot apply patches to the CD it has to be installed on the hard drive first.

    Good luck :).
     
  3. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
  4. S1001

    S1001

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    I'm having the same problem - have looked at the link @Mark1956 provided but that explains how to patch it so that it will run once already installed. Can't work out how to install it in the first place though (same problem as froovyjosie described). Anyone know how to do it?

    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  5. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Your best bet is to Google "How to install Starship Titanic on Windows 7" you should easily find the solution.
     
  6. S1001

    S1001

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I did that's how I found this thread (and the other one you linked too). Unfortunately not a lot else (bits on XP and stuff, nothing one windows 7).
     
  7. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
  8. S1001

    S1001

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    I get the problem outlined above - no error message, when I click install the starship titanic menu closes, a windows "do you want to let this program make changes to your computer" box appears, I click yes and*, a program called "starship titanic installer" appears on the task bar at the bottom of the screen but doesn't actually appear anywhere (you click on it on the task bar and nothing comes up). The CD drive goes crazy for a while then quietens down and nothing else happens. Tried running the setup/installer in various different compatibility modes (it suggests XP, I have tried the other XP compatibility, the '95 compatibility, a Vista one and various other ones) but the same thing happens. The problem with the thread you link is it is how to run starship titanic, rather than install - so the first step of the full instruction is "perform full installation" - which is prooving harder than it should be.
    Thanks for the help, I really can't wait to get this working. Any more idea's?

    Scott
     
  9. Tanis

    Tanis Shane

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,713
    How long have you left it with just the box on the task bar?

    You could try copying the entire contents of the CD onto a temporary folder on the machines harddrive, then try running the installer from there (the harddrive). There may be a read error occuring that the system is just hanging on rather than generating an immediate error. Is the disk itself in good condition and free from finger marks, scratches etc?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1005815