1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Start menu icons gone

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by OM2, May 25, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    They're gone
    All I see is empty boxes with writing on the bottom
    Why have they gone?
    How do I get them back?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,840
    First Name:
    David
    Post a screen shot of what you are getting?
     
  4. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    erm... they're back now.
    lol.
    i'll take a screenshot next time it happens.
    thks
     
  5. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    DAMN!
    it's happened again.
    surely i can't be the only one with the problem?
    see screenshot below:

    [​IMG]

    (and where the heck does andy crush come from? i've uninstalled that a few times)
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    77,536
    First Name:
    Frank
    Type winver in the search box, then press the Enter key.
    A small window will appear.
    What's the "Version" and "OS Build" numbers?

    Some of the bi-annual updates will reinstall some games.
    You will need to get rid of them again if you don't want them.

    Version 1803 OS Build 17134 causes Start menu issues in some computers.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    that's the exact version i have!
    [​IMG]
    what can i do to fix?

    thanks
     
  8. larryh10000

    larryh10000

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    779
    How to restore the old Windows desktop icons
    1. Open Settings.
    2. Click on Personalization.
    3. Click on Themes.
    4. Click the Desktop icons settings link.
    5. Check each icon you want to see on the desktop, including Computer (This PC), User's Files, Network, Recycle Bin, and Control Panel.
    6. Click Apply.
    7. Click OK.
     
  9. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    thanks. i did all that. didn't work. just read what your thing was about: desktop icons.
    that is not my problem. my problem is start menu icons disappearing.
    (desktop icons - i actually always have hide setting on)

     
  10. AmyToo

    AmyToo

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    First Name:
    Amy
    Is your computer a laptop? Or do you have the resolution set low? May be a high DPI problem. The search box looks very large
     
  11. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    laptop
    resolution set to normal
    never changed

    icons are back now
    really annoying
     
  12. AmyToo

    AmyToo

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    First Name:
    Amy
    Do you connect the laptop to external monitors?
     
  13. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    3,820
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Try setting up and new user and see if you have the same issues.
     
  14. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    yes external monitors
    problem came back this morning
    and now gone
    GRRRRRR!

    new users: i have a few actually... these i don't seem to have same problem...
    but i don't use extensively.
    2 days ago... i removed the icons and added back tot he start menu. that was a pain. took like 30 seconds for each icon... but heck it was worth it... 2 days later (this morning) came back.
     
  15. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    3,820
    First Name:
    Darrin
    I am not sure if you are saying the problem is fixed or not. However, if the other users are working properly then I recommend to create anew user and copy your user profile to it and it should fix the issue.
     
  16. OM2

    OM2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    879
    problem still there :(
    i think i'll live to learn with it.
    making a new user is like having a bad neighbour and deciding to sell your house and take a chance with a new neighbour. LOL
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210725

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice