1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Start menu

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by veena33, Sep 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    hi,

    just had a quick question. whenever i click the start menu, it takes forever to bring it up! is there anything i can do to fix that. it kinda gets locked up and finally it brings it up after a good 30-40 seconds

    v
     
  2. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Probably best go get hijackthis and post a log for review. Don't change anything until someone has looked at the log.
     
  3. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 6:42:09 PM, on 9/26/2003
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\RNATHCHK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YMSGR_TRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TGAF64NV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KSOYX.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Roadrunner
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://keyword.netscape.com/keyword/%s
    N1 - Netscape 4: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "sfux.com"); (C:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\default\prefs.js)
    N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://sea2fd.sea2.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-bin/HoTMaiL"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\yvzaljeq.slt\prefs.js)
    N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "engine://C%3A%5CPROGRAM%20FILES%5CNETSCAPE%5CNETSCAPE%206%5Csearchplugins%5CSBWeb_01.src"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\yvzaljeq.slt\prefs.js)
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [25KD8LX3KXST#7] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MALPRG9.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PopOops] C:\PROGRA~1\POPOOPS\POPOOPS.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\ypager.exe -quiet
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Ultimate Popup Killer] C:\PROGRAM FILES\ULTIMATE POPUP KILLER\POPUPKILLER.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Open in New &Window (PopOops) - C:\WINDOWS\Web\PopOops.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .hpb: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nphpipb.dll


    Here it is!
    V
     
  4. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    do u think running a defrag will help?
     
  5. veena33

    veena33 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    btw, some of mypopups are not going away even if i rtclick and close them
     
  6. skyman

    skyman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
    Run your anti virus program and then download and run Spybot, Search and Destroy. Before you run it check for updates and then run fix problems.

    http://security.kolla.de/
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167645

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice