Start program on another computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

boostinu13

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
5
Hello. I would love to be able to open a program that is located on my media computer via my laptop. I tried to use PsExec with no luck.
I have read a few things but it confuses me quite a lot. I do not mind it being complicated as long as it is easy steps.
I was hoping I could just get a program installed on both machines to do this.
At the moment I use team viewer to access it, but then that interrupts the person using the computer to watch things (if I have a remote program start then the screen will go back to the media center after a moment)

I am using windows 10 on both

For the Psexec I go C:\Users\boost>psexec \\(IP ADDRESS) -u (COMP NAME)\(USERNAME) -p (PASSWORD) cmd for example and it says access denied. Being windows 10 I have my e-mail address associated with it to, do I need to use that?

Any help would be appreciated. Using Psexec or another way.

Thank you
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
12,463
Does the program you are trying to run remotely need admin rights? Maybe UAC is tripping you.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,294
What program are you trying to run remotely ?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
12,463
UAC stands for User Access Control. It is the dialog box that pops up on a darkened screen background when you configure things such as the firewall.
 

boostinu13

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
5
UAC stands for User Access Control. It is the dialog box that pops up on a darkened screen background when you configure things such as the firewall.
Oh ok. I know what you are meaning now. Know that does not appear. Even with psexec inonly tried cmd and ipconfig Neither worked
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,294
I can't find anything online for Qtorrent, should it be Utorrent or Qbittorrent or ... ?

Also what do you want the torrent program to do ?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,109
Sorry but we do not provide support for torrents as per the site rules therefore I'm closing this thread.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top