Start up, blue screen, crash, restart, blue screen...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bassam

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
7
Specs:
Intel® Centrino® processor technology
• Intel® Core™ 2 Duo processor T5450
• 1.67 GHz , Level 2 cache 2 MB
• Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 32-bit

Every time I start up, when it reaches the desktop, I get a blue screen, and it has writing in white, and I can't read it because as soon as it appears, it restarts the computer, and it happens again

I shut down the computer, restarted it, took out the battery, let is cool, and still no diffrence

Could it be a virus? I don't think so, because when I open it in Safe Mode, I run SpyBot Search and Destroy, and it can't find any problem

This is my first post here, so please tell me If I'm missing anything

Thank you
 

Bassam

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
7
Alright, everything was ""Windows has shut down to prevent damage" and stuff, and this is the only technical thing I can find:

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0x0000008E (0xC0000005, 0x87DC4F77, 0xADDD74A4, 0x00000000)

Will it help?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
8
BSOD 0x0000008E is difficult to diagnose.
As far as I know there are three possible reasons:
- virus
- incompatible software drivers for sound card or graphics adapter
- faulty or overheating graphics adapter/chip

Suggestions:
If you have access to second computer try to scan the hard disk with some decent antivirus software + anti spyware.
Go to safe mode and UNINSTALL recently updated/installed drivers or software. Uninstall graphics adapter drivers. If that fail and If you have another graphics card - try replacing it.

Regards
Konrad
 

Bassam

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
7
Could it be a virus? I don't think so, because when I open it in Safe Mode, I run SpyBot Search and Destroy, and it can't find any problem
Already tried scanning it
As for the accessing another computer, and scanning the hard drive, I have no idea on how to do that
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
8
Spybot is anti spyware software, even if it can detect some viruses.
Try other possibilities - uninstall drivers etc...
 

Bassam

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
7
Yes, I'm not that good at computers, how do I uninstall drivers?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
8
You need to go to Settings/Control Panel, then Programs And Features. Look for something called:
AMD ATI Software Drivers
NVIdia Drivers
Intel Graphics Adapter drivers

Just uninstall it (click REMOVE)

You will be able to easily reinstall it later, when you hopefully resolve the blue screen problem.

p.s. could you tell what is your full computer specification?
such as: graphics card, computer manufacturer, model, motherboard, sound card

Good luck
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
8
Look for NVIDIA Graphics Adapter Drivers or something similar.

Have you installed any new software on your computer? There was anything strange going on before? The blue screen just appear suddenly without any clear symptom or reason?
 

Bassam

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
7
Hmmm
I downloaded an NVIDIA driver... After that the Blue screen started
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
8
If you can't think of anything else you have recently installed on your laptop then there is no way to help you remotely using this forum.

Other suggestions:
If you are lucky you should have original recovery DVD disc with windows vista. Then you could try some of the vista's repair tools. You do not have to reformat the whole hard disk. Just insert the cd and wait till welcome screen. It will ask you what you want to do - choose repair current installation.

Here is info step by step how to repair Vista without formatting drive:
http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/88236-repair-install-vista.html

I still suggest you (as the last effort) to scan computer for viruses. Try SuperAntispyware and Malwarebytes Antispyware:
http://www.superantispyware.com
http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

If all that fail probably you will need to backup your files and reformat the hard disk or visit your local PC service shop.

GL
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top