1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Start Up Errors?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by EddWilson, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EddWilson

    EddWilson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Do you have a Windows 7 Disk or did you purchase the computer with the OS pre-installed?

    -----------------------------------------

    Click Start

    In the search bar type msconfig and hit Enter

    Click the Startup tab

    Take a screenshot(s) showing all items listed and attach the image(s) in your next post.
     
  3. EddWilson

    EddWilson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I Installed An ISO My Freind Gave Me


    How Comes?
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
  5. EddWilson

    EddWilson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    I believe you can remove the checkmark from everything there, except your antivirus.

    I am assuming your antivirus is Microsoft Security Essentials? I was unable to identify an antivirus other than what is possibly Micorosoft Security Essentials. [Microsoft Se...]

    If you don't have Microsoft Security Essentials as your antivirus, I don't see that you have one running. I suggest you install one and make sure it runs at startup.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    If removing check marks from all the entries (except your antivirus) does not solve the problem, my next idea is to do that Windows 7 Repair Install.
     
  7. EddWilson

    EddWilson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Perfect Fix Mate, Now just to Sort My USB's!
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    You do have an active antivirus running on the computer though, right?
     
  9. EddWilson

    EddWilson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Yes, Windows Security Essentials & Norton 2011
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Having two antivirus suites installed on your computer can cause it to act very slow as well as cause other problems. I suggest uninstalling Norton 2011.

    Make sure that what you have installed is Microsoft Security Essentials.

    -----------------------------------------------

    To uninstall Norton 2011, use the Norton Removal Tool.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice