1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

start up list

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by kwyll, Feb 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kwyll

    kwyll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    hi, Can someone please explain to me how to put a start up list in the forum?.Ido not know how to copy and paste!.much appreciated .kwyll.
     
  2. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    This I copied from a post of steamwiz

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here
     
  3. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    You can go to Start / Programs / Accessories / System Tools / System Information

    Once there go to Software environment / Startup Programs

    Click on Startup Programs once - and all the programs you'd see in MSCONFIG will be in the right pane.

    Click Edit / Select All / Edit / Copy and you have them all.

    Come back to your post here and:

    ATnotes Startup Group "C:\Program Files\ATnotes\ATnotes.exe"
    Acrobat Assistant Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe"
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    Tweak UI Registry (Machine Run) RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    NetMouse Registry (Machine Run) C:\NETPRO95\gmnet.exe
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    F-STOPW.EXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\FSI\F-Prot\F-STOPW.EXE
    FRISK FP-Scheduler Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\FSI\F-Prot\F-Sched.exe
    Pop-Up Stopper Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\POP-UP STOPPER\DPPS2.EXE"
    AlertService Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\ComputerAssociates\ARCserve\Alert\Alert.EXE
    NDPS Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\dpmw32.exe

    right click once in the field and Paste.

    OK?

    PS: One thing, when you copy and paste this it will look all jumbled and out of place till you post it and magically, it will appear orderly in the thread.

    PPS: Just noticed it's your first post, welcome to the best board anywhere.
     
  4. kwyll

    kwyll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    StartupList report, 04/02/2003, 23:08:07
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERVIDEO\COMMON\BIN\WINCINEMAMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MRU-BLASTER\MRUBLASTER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SLLIGHTS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MRU-BLASTER\MRUBLASTER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\DAP\DAP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    InterVideo WinCinema Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\Bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
    Logitech Desktop Messenger.lnk = C:\Program Files\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\LDMConf.exe
    MRU-Blaster Scheduler.lnk = C:\Program Files\MRU-Blaster\scheduler.exe
    MRU-Blaster Silent Clean.lnk = C:\Program Files\MRU-Blaster\mrublaster.exe

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
    PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

    MRUBlaster = C:\PROGRAM FILES\MRU-BLASTER\indexcleaner.exe -CACHE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    Avgserv9.exe = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    TrueVector = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Yahoo! Pager = C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\ypager.exe -quiet

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMMON\YCOMP5_0_2_6.DLL (file missing) - {02478D28-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670}
    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\DAP\DAPBHO.DLL - {0000CC75-ACF3-4cac-A0A9-DD3868E06852}
    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [HeartbeatCtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\HRTBEAT.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab

    [MSN Chat Control 4.5]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT45.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab

    [YInstStarter Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

    [sys Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

    [ActiveScan Installer Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as/asinst.cab

    [iCC Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPCONNCHECK.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/pcpConnCheck.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\SWFLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,823 bytes
    Report generated in 0.178 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  5. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Glad you got the list copied and pasted but was there a problem or just wanted the knowledge?
     
  6. kwyll

    kwyll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Thanx for replying!,the reasons for the posts were as follows.1.knowledge 2. How to cut and paste.3.To see if if there was anything problematical in the start up list(hope there"s not!).Once again thanx.KWYLL.
     
  7. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    This Private Message answer will exceed the character limit of the board so I'm posting it on the thread for you.
    ____________________________________________

    In the Running processes list are:
    WinCinema Manager is needed when using the WinDVD Remote Control for WinDVD from Intervideo. It doesn't need to be in the autostart taking up resources. If you need to use it you can via Start / Programs.

    WMIEXE.EXE is not really necessary and adds time to the boot process but it is a Microsoft file, not dangerous. It's a strange file though since it doesn't load on many machines and has no load by an ini file or registry entry.

    MRUBLASTER.EXE This you must have added yourself. It's a program to give you privacy on the internet. It doesn't make much sense unless you really have something to hide since it will slow down page loads because all your cache is flushed, history deleted, cookies deleted, etc. Having said that, I haven't used it but I understand there may be settings you can adjust. There are enough problems with it that it has it's own forum:
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/index.php?board=33

    TAPIsrv.exe would appear to be an executable program that is being executed upon the launch of AOL. This application being launched (which would probably account for some type of disk access) is associated with a Telephony messaging Application Programming Interface.

    I only come to that conclusion because I did think it was associated with Windows ME but then I'm no expert on ME.

    SLLIGHTS.EXE System Tray icon for modems based on SGS-Thomson Microelectronics’ chipsets (also called STMicroelectronics). This chipset seems to be used mainly in AMR or USB modems. The System Tray icon is installed during the modem driver installation. It enables the end-user to turn ON or OFF features such as the modem speaker, and other minor settings.
    Recommendation :
    Some users have reported crashes and lockups (freezes) caused by this task, so you may want to disable it with Startup Manager.

    DAP.EXE I think this is another one you may have loaded to boost your surfing speed, most of which don't work. there were references to it being added by one of those rotten self installing toolbars that take over assigning home pages and other delightful things. I just don't know.

    In the following list you have 2 entries:
    MRU-Blaster Scheduler.lnk = C:\Program Files\MRU-Blaster\scheduler.exe
    MRU-Blaster Silent Clean.lnk = C:\Program Files\MRU-Blaster\mrublaster.exe

    Again, if you want it fine but you'll notice it's on a schedule which means it may be robbing you of power / speed when you least want that and it's apparently set to run silently or in the background.

    Having never used it I can't tell you how many resources this thing uses, what delays it cause or much else.

    PCHealth Scheduler, too much to write but if you do a Google search you'll find a ton of info. Most not anything I'd what on my machine but then that may be one reason ME was a bust. Sorry.

    To sum up I didn't see any virus, spyware or other major problems but you do have a lot (at least for me who likes a clean machine) of stuff running in the background that may not be helping your puter do it's job smoothly.

    If you didn't install it yourself or thought it might speed things up or protect you then you'll have too judge whether it's worth the trade off in performance.

    Hope that helps.
     
  8. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    can wmiexe.exe be deleted or renamed?
     
  9. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    It's one of those interesting questions. I renamed mine months ago because I was sick of the wait while my hourglass spun on boot. I've had no problems on 2 machines running Win98SE.

    But read this from a tech report:

    Microsoft’s Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI). Windows Management Instrumentation provides a standard Windows programming method of accessing system information, performance information, event monitors, and application monitors. Thus, for instance, if you wanted to write a product which detailed which hard disks your PC has, their capacity, manufacturer, and other miscellaneous information, you could use WMI scripting to retrieve the information from your PC. In fact you could use WMI for something as simple as finding how much spare hard disk space you have. WMI is an essential component of Windows from Windows 98 SE and Windows 2000 onward. In Windows 98/ME WMIEXE is a transparent task visible only through Starter.

    Recommendation :
    Leave this task alone. If you are experiencing errors which mention WMIEXE, then your problem is not strictly with WMIEXE, but with something else on your PC
     
  10. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Think I'll rename it to old and bet just like your two puter it well work just fine. I don't beleive everything mr. bill has to say. thanks for the info.
     
  11. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    surprise surprise tried to rename it but couldn't because it is in use by windows. so I need to rename it in dos......can you or anyone please tell me how this is done. anytime one can take seconds off the boot up I'm for it.
     
  12. Corrosive

    Corrosive

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,058
    I'd run a spyware checker if I were you, like "Spybot - Search and Destroy". If I remember correctly, Download Accellerator Pro installs some pieces of spyware along with it.

    Click here to go to download it

    There are others, but I use this one myself after it was recommended here.
     
  13. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Sure, sorry I should have mentioned that.

    Shutdown to "Restart in MSDOS mode"

    You'll be at C:\windows>

    type CD system and hit enter

    you'll be at C:\windows\system>

    type rename wmiexe.exe wmiexe.old hit enter

    hit ctrl Alt Del to re-boot.

    If you have any problems you can boot straight to DOS by pressing F8 during the next boot at the 1st beep and you'll get a selection of start ups one of which is boot to DOS where you can go back to C:\windows\system> and rename it back to the original.

    You get back to C:\windows\system> by typing CD Windows at the C:\> prompt and then CD system at the C:\windows> prompt.
     
  14. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Thanks from port orchard Griff.....took about 3 sec. off boot up
     
  15. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Small world isn't it. I haven't been there in ages but Port Orchard's OK. Did that stop the hourglass from spinning once Windows loaded?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117215

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice