1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

start up problem screens

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by fwjo, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fwjo

    fwjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    My computer went into safe mode. A friend walked me out of it over the phone. Now when I turn my computer on, HP Pavilion me, There is a four choice screen 1 normal, 2 log boot, 3 can` remember this one and 4 step by step. It counts down and will go on if you sellect 1 or 2. Then a red screen takes over and says nav auto protect, unable to initialize virus scanning engine database files. You have to press enter to go on then it boot up.
    I can still run my norton and it scans out my email. So what do I do to get these screens out
     
  2. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Is enable start up menu selected in msconfig? If so uncheck it.
     
  3. fwjo

    fwjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    How do I get to the misconfig, I`m new at this.
     
  4. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    When prompted by Windows, use the arrow keys below the Del key to choose option no. 1, Normal mode, and press Enter. To find solution to the Norton Anti-virus (NAV) warning uninstall NAV in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel; Restart your computer; Then re-install NAV.

    Ensure you have a firewall running like free Sygate from http://download.com.com/3000-2092-10184369.html?tag=lst-0-1

    You must be on-line to register Sygate during Sygate's install.
     
  5. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

    Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quotation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

    http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

    It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.

    In the System Configuration Utility (SCU), you can uncheck programs you suspect one at a time and restart your computer. If something doesn't work right, you can always go back into the SCU and re-check it and restart your computer via the Start button. The changes are completely reversible by re-checking an item in SCU or by selecting Normal Startup under the General tab in the SCU and all the programs listed run when Windows starts as it was before you started.
     
  6. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    start\run\type msconfig in the white box hit okay. When msconfig comes up on the general tab click on advanced located in the bottom right corner.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. fwjo

    fwjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Brindle, that did it. The nav red screen still come up, But I won`t have the cd until tomorrow to install Norton again. Should I go ahead and uninstall Norton now or wait?
     
  8. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    You need to configure norton so it doesn't scan at boot-up. I don't use any Norton products so can't tell you how that's done but know it's somewhere in the configuration settings.
    Glad you got the other problem fixed
     
  9. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Uninstal NAV now, it can not detect virus, Trojan or variant in its current state.
     
  10. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Styxx
    could you please elaborate on your last post for me please?
     
  11. fwjo

    fwjo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    If I can still run all the Norton scans and it is still scanning out my emails with symantec, why would it not still be checking for virus?
     
  12. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    I do, happen to or have used Symantec products extensively, brindle. When the below occurs as reported by the actual orginal poster:

    It means that the NAV Real-Time scanner can not load (that means NAV is corrupted) and needs uninstalled/reinstalled. It does not mean NAV's boot-up scanner is malfunctioning as you incorrectly suggest brindle. Note that the reported error messages say Auto-Protect, not Boot-up, was unable to scan or similar language related to boot-up scanning. Auto-Protect is NAV's Real-Time scanner. In other words NAV itself, not some optional feature, can not start.

    Besides, to err on the side of caution why wouldn't you uninstall; restart your computer re-install? It would only do no harm.
     
  13. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Thanks for clearing that up for me. As I said I do not use Norton and shouldn't of replied to that part of the question.

    Thanks again Styxx
     
  14. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Additionally, the 'scan at startup' feature is not there in later (last two) versions of NAV.
     
  15. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Boy I should learn to keep my mouth shut. Haven't used norton since the 3.1 days
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168058

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice