1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Start Up problems

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by damyankee12, Aug 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    I have windows 98 SE and i recently ran out of room on my hard drive so i transferred all drive C files to my external HD and now when i tried to reboot an error message shows up saying invalid disk and will not let me past. Can you help me?
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You can't do that. There are files on the boot drive required for Windows to start (msdos.sys for one). Transfer them back. If you can access the external drive, even using another computer, put the files on a floppy and copy them back.

    for example,

    copy a:\msdos.sys c:\

    You can also try starting with a Win98 startup disk for the Windows version used and at the a: prompt enter

    sys c:

    but I don't think this is going to replace all that you removed.

    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000229.htm
     
  3. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Well i tried and i got some of them but im not sure if i got all. I have put then on a floppy and when i put the disk in it says verifying DMI pool data and just stops. Then when i hit a key it serches through the floppy and does nothing.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If it is hanging on the "dmi pool" error, that is a different animal. In principle it should not be related at all to anything you removed from the drive. However if it appears to be "searching" the floppy and going nowhere from there, you may have a bad floppy disk, or the floppy drive itself may be bad.

    Start by checking all the cables for both the floppy drive and the hard drive.

    The "dmi" error is a BIOS level hardware configuration issue, which can be very difficult to resolve. Sometimes the entire motherboard has to be replaced.

    What I would suggest is you enter the BIOS setup (watch the screen on initial boot up to see what key to press).

    Look there for options to "reload setup defaults" and "reset configurtion data".

    This may need to be done with the hard drive and floppy removed if it doesn't work the first time. It may also be necessary to replace the cmos battery on the motherboard. These have a life span of about 3-5 years.

    Have a look at this page, there are others around if you "google" the error message...

    http://www.qdi.nl/support/dmipool.htm
     
  5. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    I have just bought a new Drive for it and i believe the disk is ok. I will buy a new one and try it from there. All the cables are ok. If i was to replace the motherboard would that remove the programs on the hard drive or would it still be on there. Where would i get a new motherboard. Would it be easier to buy a new Computer?
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Replacing a motherboard can be done for under 100 bucks, but I suspect if you have to ask where to get one, you are going to have problems installing it and resolving possible hardware detection issues on startup. Although no programs should be lost if the install is successful, the best procedure is to remove "system" devices from the Device Manager before the install -- something you cannot do. I'm not sure what results you can expect.

    Also its not clear if you have tried the BIOS level "reset configuration data" "fix" that sometimes resolves the DMI hang, if that is what is happening.

    How did you copy files and do a sys c: (cure for "invalid disk" error( if the floppy wasn't being read? Are you sure itsn't just the floppy disk or drive that is the problem if the floppy isn't reading? Was the floppy you were trying to boot from a regular Win98 startup disk? It has to be to work.

    If you didn't use a startup floppy, you must create one. Download the Win98 OEM version setup to the computer hard drive you are on, from this site. Put a floppy in the drive and then run the setup to transfer the files. Then see if you can boot to an a: prompt using it on the problem system. From there you run sys c:

    http://bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

    As for a new PC, you can get pretty good ones these days for under 600 bucks, including a monitor. Once you have one you can take your old one to someplace like Best Buy and for about 60 to a hundred bucks they will remove the old hard drive and copy the entire contents to a folder on the new PC so you can access old files (but not run old programs) if those files are valuable to you.
     
  7. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    well i made a floppy disk from that website and when i started up the comp i tryped sys c: in the A:/ and typed that in and it said system transferred. Now when i reboot without the bootup disk it goes
    verifying dmi pool data
    Starting Windows 95.......
    Microsoft (R) Windows 95
    (C) Copyright Microsoft Corp 1981-1995
    C:\>

    now what?
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Starting Windows 95.......
    Microsoft (R) Windows 95

    ??? I thought you said you had Win98SE on the system? Are you sure you downloaded the boot disk for Win98 and not Win 95?


    Something is sending or stopping you at the c: prompt. While you're there, enter:

    dir c:\

    do you see a windows directory listed? If so, enter:

    win

    Do you get an error message, or does it boot to Windows now?

    Also try starting in Safe Mode now and see if you can get to a desktop. To start in Safe Mode, tap the f8 key promptly on restart a few times. You should get a startup menu with numbered options. Choose Safe Mode. Let me know if it starts that way but not normally.
     
  9. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    sorry about that i ment windows 98. well i did the directory and no windows was to be found. I tryped it in anywas but nothing. I also tried the F8 key and tried safemode but it still came up to c:/ ???? Anything else i can try
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If you have a Windows CD you can reinstall. You will need the ProductKey (registration ID that comes with it). If you have that, use the boot disk to get to an a:> prompt (accept CD-ROM support), insert the CD, and then enter:

    e:\setup

    where I assume 'e' will be the letter that gets assigned the drive, it will be one higher than normal.

    If no CD, I'm afraid you've got a dead box until you get something to install.
     
  11. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    could i get windows xp and install that or does it have to be windows 98? do you know a place where i can get windows 98 disk cheap?
     
  12. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You *could* get Windows XP but for the price you will pay, around a hundred bucks, and because you may have many potential compatiblity issues installing on an older system -- you would be better off spending a few more hundred on a low end new system.

    Yes it is possible to get Win98 CDs on E-bay, but it's got to be a real crapshoot. You might also check with your local "mom and pop" type computer repair store and see if they can help you out with something.
     
  13. damyankee12

    damyankee12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Ok i have a windows 95 Cd to install. The only problem is when i first turn on the comp with the disk in the drive it load and you see the windows 98 screen and then it goes black and then it says....Starting Windows 98.......
    Microsoft (R) Windows 98
    (C) Copyright Microsoft Corp 1981-1995
    C:\>

    now what do i do???
     
  14. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    At the C:\ Prompt type the following line and press Enter:

    Dir C:\Win*.

    Whats the report on screen?

    Also type the following lines and press Enter

    Attrib -r -s -h C:\MSDOS.SYS
    Dir MSDOS.SYS

    Also post the report on Screen
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/268810

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice