Starting a DOS program as a Service

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

derrekday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
13
I am trying to find out if you can start a DOS program as a service on NT Server.
Is it possible? And if so what does it take. I've searched the Technet but have gotten no answers.
Thanks ahead of time,
Derrek
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2001
Messages
139
nt 4 or 2000?

nt 4, there is a program that comes with the resourse kit, called srvnt. sorry, can't remember the exact name, but if you serach the microsoft database, they should tell you, it is a file that you can register any program as a service in nt
 

derrekday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
13
I've got that program, but NT itself won't run a DOS box as a service, it won't start-up.
thanks for the idea though!
Derrek
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2001
Messages
139
you may try to run it as a script, or try to use the autoexec.nt

sorry can't give your very detail on it, i only can point you to the right direction.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
I do believe you have to set it to run as a system account and check the box to allow it to interact with the desktop. If that doesn't work, try it as a timed task with the AT scheduler. What does this program do exactly??
 

derrekday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
13
The program I'm trying to run is a time server.
I can get to automatically start when logged into the server, I want it to be able to run when no one is logged in so that it is not dependant on a user.
I've tried to make it as a system account interacting with the desktop, but still no workie.
Derrek
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2001
Messages
139
well, if that programe you already set it to run automaticall on nt server, no matter if you log in or not, you will still run
when you turn on your computer, everything will loaded up accroding to the service list.
 

derrekday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
13
The problem is that I have added it as a service, but it will not start as a service, the computer hangs for about 3 minutes then says it was unable to start the service. So technically it is not a functioning service so won't begin upon startup.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top