1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

starting in dos

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by wdfndn, Oct 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Hi,

    In 98 when I wanted to boot into dos I just hit F8.

    How do I reboot into dos using xp pro please?

    Thx

    Woody
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Er---- you don't. XP does not have a DOS mode.
     
  3. scmazter

    scmazter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    Right well, you see, win 95 & 98 still required DOS to run them, however win me and xp don't, so they don't ahve an option of restarting in dos.
    I think there is a way to get to dos though. I did this at the start of the year, however forgot excactly how to now.
    Restart windows, and when it says "Please select the operating system to start" press f8. If it doesn;t say that (it probably won't) press f8 just before the windows logo with the bar below it comes up.
    Then I THINK it should have the option of going to dos amongst such things as safe mode.
     
  4. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Thx Scmazter,

    I didn't know about ME and XP not requiring dos.
    apparently I can't do what I wanted to do anyway because the deltree command doesn't work in XP.

    Thx

    Woody
     
  5. scmazter

    scmazter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    Ahhh, I tried it and lol no way to ecit to dos.
    But what do u mean delete command doesn't work?
    I think the del thing still working and del *.* if u want to vipe the whole dir.
    WHy don't u tell me what you want to do?
     
  6. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Deltree does work - if you copy it from a 98 machine to the Winnt/system32 folder. I use it to delete my temporary folder on start up. Set up a bat file and put it in your startup folder

    @echo off
    c:
    cd \
    deltree /y C:\temp
    md temp
    echo done
     
  7. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks Dave, I was after doing something along those lines.
    I don't trust microsoft and if you take a look at the article shown below it says you have to boot in dos to completely get rid of your cache and history.
    I had np doing this with 98 but with XP I haven't much of a clue....You say " copy it from a 98 machine to the Winnt/system32 folder."
    copy what exactly? and how do i set a bat folder please?
    http://www.****microsoft.com/content/ms-hidden-files.shtml

    Showing my lack of understanding now :eek:

    Woody
     
  8. tehon3299

    tehon3299

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    What I would do is make a batch file which, as said before, should look something like:

    @echo off
    c:
    cd \
    deltree /y C:\temp
    md temp
    echo done

    Then place that file in the registry under the run category:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Navigate to that and create a new key, a string value, called ClearTemp or something and make the value a path to where you store the batch file.
    Then it will run the batch file whenever a user logs onto the computer.

    --Tehon
     
  9. wdfndn

    wdfndn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks,

    I'll give it a bash and see what happens
     
  10. coderitr

    coderitr

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,015
    There is really no need to start copying files from Win98 cds. To delete a directory from the command prompt in XP type:

    rd /s <dirname>
     
  11. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi coderitr,

    Re: above post,
    please describe how to get to a command prompt in XP.

    Thanks, John :)
     
  12. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Is it not under programs/accessories
     
  13. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi coderitr,

    Re: post two above,
    please describe how to get to a command prompt in XP.

    Thanks, John :)
     
  14. coderitr

    coderitr

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,015
    Start -> Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt

    __ OR __

    Start -> Run -> cmd -> [enter]
     
  15. john1

    john1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Ok,
    right.
    Does this give access to the normal range of DoS commands ?

    I'm asking in particular about 'Interlnk'

    Regards, John :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169253

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice