1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Starting programs from START/RUN

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by PratikGunjal, Apr 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PratikGunjal

    PratikGunjal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Is there a way by which we can start non-windows applications from START/RUN?

    For example; to open a new word document we can go to START-> RUN and then type "winword.", or for Internet explorer we type "iexplore.".

    Is there a way we can start a non windows application such as "Crazy Browser" by typing "Crazy browser.exe" in the START/RUN. Do we have to add any link or path to any folder or a registry.
     
  2. Techmonkeys

    Techmonkeys

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    625
    You can do

    START>RUN>"C:\path to app\crazybrowser.exe"

    or you can create a shortcut to the prog you wanna run and drop it in the "c:\windows directory\system32" folder and the do:

    START>RUN>"Shocut Filename.lnk"
     
  3. physician

    physician

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,421
    You have to know if it is windows compatible however...doc
     
  4. PratikGunjal

    PratikGunjal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Kid/ Physician,

    Thanks for the reply. Kid, typing the entier path always work, what I was looking at was just to type the "filename.exe".

    The method to do that is to : right click My Computers -> Properties ->Advance -> Environmental Values, look for field called "Path" in the system variables , double click on it . In the variable values at the end of the paths just append the Path were the .exe is located "C:\program...." . after that you can runt it from STart/RUn by typing the filename.exe

    I have tried that this works with some program such as yahoo massenger but not with crazy browser...
    I guess Physician is right about checking if it is windows compatable ...

    Is there a way to check that ?
     
  5. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Just an idle question?

    Why is it important to run the program via Start > Run?

    Why not just create a Shortcut on the desktop. And/or one in the QuickLaunch Bar?
     
  6. Big-K

    Big-K

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    6,052
    ^ Well if, like me, you do not like using the mouse, then the run box is the fastest way to launch a program.

    The way I do it is to make a shortcut, name it what I want, and drop it in the C:\WINDOWS folder. Then you can go to run, and just type the name of the shortcut. No extension.
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I just tried this with several programs installed in C:\Program Files\, and it worked with every one. What program are you trying that doesn't work?
     
  8. PratikGunjal

    PratikGunjal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Hello Guys,

    I just found the answer. the reason why the crazy browser was not opening was that there was a space between the two words "crazy" and "browser". I just renamed the .exe file to remove the space and now it is working.


    Thanks for your Help
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Just for information, you can run DOS programs this way as well. There was some earlier post that the programs needed to be Windows compatible. Not necessarily true.

    For example:
    Start / Run / Edit
    EDIT is a 16-bit DOS text editor.

    If you really want to go back in time
    Start / Run / edlin test.txt

    This will start a really old DOS text editor.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/354599

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice