Startup and Shutdown each taking around 30 minutes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cyberpac9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
369
I have a restore point but it's old (2 years - somehow protection was turned off). If I select that restore point, what will be removed/lost? My personal stuff should remain (pics, documents, etc) correct? Does it remove everything that was installed/updated since that restore point? So, for example, Chrome has been updated a bunch, obviously. Will it revert back to Chrome from 2 years ago? Same with anti-virus, office updates, etc?

My computer is having an issue where start up and shut down take about 30 minutes each. I'm not sure what is causing it or how to fix it. That's why I am looking at the restore.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,107
Yes, it shouldn't touch documents and pictures but it's not recommended to do a restore that far back. All programs installed since then will be removed as well as all updates to the ones that were installed before that date. It can easily break those programs, especially an anti-virus program.

It's best to troubleshoot the issue.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,107
Either way, you should be sure you have your documents and pictures, music, emails etc. backed up to external media, preferably an external hard drive.
 

cyberpac9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
369
Thanks @Cookiegal, that's what I was thinking. My C drive is windows and programs only. Everything else is on other drives. Now I just have to figure out how to troubleshoot what's causing the slowness.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
38,644
I would suspect that the hard drive is the cause. Do you know what hard drive it is and how old it is?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
38,644
It's a Samsung ssd about 6 years old, guessing.
Depending on how the computer has been used (like left on 24/7), more than likely the drive is showing it's age. If you haven't done a clean install for quite some time, it could be that there are a lot of left over things that is slowing the boot process or/and the shut down process.

If you check Device Manager, you should be able to get the basic information on it and then find a suitable hard drive diagnostic tool to test the drive.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,107
I think we should move this to the Hardware forum and change the title to reflect the problem. Would you like me to go ahead and do that?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,738
cyberpac9:

I checked a few of your previous threads, and I can't find any information about your computer.
Having that information would help greatly in trying to diagnose the slowness issue.

If it's still able to load its Windows operating system and has a working internet connection, please do the following in it:
Download and save the tsginfo.exe file.
After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
Information about your computer will appear.
Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

--------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,738
It doesn't matter if it's a factory-brand one or a self-built one.
If you're able to do it, please submit the log that I requested.

--------------------------------------------------
 

cyberpac9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
369
It doesn't matter if it's a factory-brand one or a self-built one.
If you're able to do it, please submit the log that I requested.

--------------------------------------------------
Sorry, I meant you haven't seen specifics of the computer because it's a custom build. I will try to get the log shortly and report back.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,738
I've got some things to do at home, so I'm going to shut down.
If I don't check back later in the evening, I'll check back in the morning. (y)
 
Last edited:

cyberpac9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
369
@flavallee here ya go:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit, Build 7601, Installed 20110909055742.000000-240
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 223 GB (97 GB Free); M: 215 GB (171 GB Free); O: 59 GB (59 GB Free); P: 999 GB (355 GB Free); S: 431 GB (34 GB Free); Z: 215 GB (136 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z68A-D3H-B3, ver x.x
System: Award Software International, Inc., ver GBT - 42302e31
Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated

What I found interesting while looking things up, somehow I didn't install windows on my SSD (SSD is listed as O above). I don't know *how* that happened. Sigh.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top