startup glitch

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crysis6

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
10
There is a glitch when i startup, where the screen flashes black for a second in the middle of the startup programs loading, then the icons come back one at a time. Also, once every 5 or so times, the computer will slow down to a crawl and ultimately crash. Its a Dell laptop running XP with the newest service pack and virus definitions for norton. What could be the problem?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Do an scan with hijack this , copy and paste its results here to see if something can be repaired this way first.
 

crysis6

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
10
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.0
Scan saved at 10:12:01 AM, on 9/10/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\Apoint\Apoint.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell\Support\Alert\bin\DAMon.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Apoint\Apntex.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Serv-U\SERVUD~1.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\SmartPopupKiller\PopupKillerTray.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Ryan Saraco\Desktop\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://aol.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://smbusiness.dellnet.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://smbusiness.dellnet.com/
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {A09790E7-DD00-4A83-B632-5B563423CFBB} - C:\Program Files\SmartPopupKiller\PopupKillerIEDLL.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Apoint] C:\Program Files\Apoint\Apoint.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DadApp] C:\Program Files\Dell\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Dell|Alert] C:\Program Files\Dell\Support\Alert\bin\DAMon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
O12 - Plugin for .mpeg: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Dominoes - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/dot2_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Go Fish - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/zt3_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Literati - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/tt0_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! MLB StatTracker - http://aud3.sports.yahoo.com/java/y/mlbst8298_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Poker - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pt0_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pool 2 - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/potb_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Spades - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/st2_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Trivia - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/tvt0_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Word Racer - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/wt0_x.cab
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {2A9146F3-E5DE-48D8-8B53-E1214450B778} (Generator Class) - http://users.rcn.com/hornms/MachineID.dll
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://apple.speedera.net/qtinstall.info.apple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} - http://207.188.7.150/19c2cfb2dec15601ba15/netzip/RdxIE2.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37858.5253703704
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
 

crysis6

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
10
can someone decipher this and tell me what could be wrong with my laptop?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Log looks ok. please download Adaware , do a scan then check all items it finds and select the next button then delete them.
 

crysis6

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
10
It worked for now, gonna run adaware on my pc now and see what it comes up with. Thanks again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top