1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Startup Problems... I'm getting desperate!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ottnmia, Feb 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ottnmia

    ottnmia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Hello. I come here as a last ditch effort, as I have heard nothing but wonderful things about this site. I did some searching for solutions and made some leeway, but now I was hoping to consult the pros! =)

    Anyhow, my problem stems from something gobbling up my computer's ability. This computer used to be very quick and had no problems. I am now unable to do MANY things I once was. I am CONVINCED that something is eating up my processing ability, and I have the following evidence to lead me to that, as well as some background info:

    -Old applications and games that used to work fine are maxing my com out now.

    -I several times have gotten an error message saying "Your system is dangerously low on resources". however I haven't been doing all that much while that's happened. CERTAINLY not as much as I used to be able to do. (when that happens, I almost always crash).

    -My DSL is trying to log in from startup in windows. From the initial windows log in screen, if I leave it there the DSL log in screen appears. As if, before even desktop loads, it is trying to access the Internet.

    -It has been freezing a lot.




    I have done the following things so far:

    -I uninstalled all Kazaa on my computer.

    -I uninstalled my new Norton Antivirus 2003, because I thought possibly that that new anitivirus was too much for my com. I used to use NAV 2000 and had just upgraded (note: this doesn't seem to have made much difference).

    -I ran Ad-Aware

    -I ran SpyBot.

    -Through my ZoneAlarm I noticed that LOADQM.EXE and some SYMANTECAUTOUPDATE were both trying to automatically access the Internet.

    -I searched through the web for info on removing LOADQM.EXE. The article told me to do a "MSCONFIG" and uncheck it from the Startup list. I did that (as well as one or two other thigns I didnt think belonged there) and it now says "Your computer is running on a custom startup for troubleshooting" when Desktop loads.

    -I went to add/remove programs to uninstall the TWO Symantec Autoupdate things that were there, since I no longer have an Antivirus installed. One uninstalled, the other did not. Said something about Norton utilities 2000, which I had installed on my machine. So...

    -I tried to Uninstall Norton Utilities and it would not, kept saying some "uninstall.ini" file was missing.

    -I went to My Computer and manually deleted ALL Norton Folders.

    - I read about the StartupList program and ran it, here were the results after a FRESH BOOT (in which ZoneAlarm autopmatically started, my DSL tried to log in but I hit cancel). here was the Startup Results:





    StartupList report, 2/17/2003, 5:05:06 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\EN60PTB.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ICSMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HKCMD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Adaptec DirectCD = C:\PROGRA~1\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    EN60P TaskBar = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\en60ptb.exe
    ICSMGR = ICSMGR.EXE
    Microsoft Works Portfolio = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers
    IgfxTray = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\igfxtray.exe
    HotKeysCmds = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hkcmd.exe
    Microsoft WebServer = C:\Program Files\WebSvr\System\svctrl /init
    QuickTime Task = "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSCONFIG.exe /reminder

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    TrueVector = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 16/2/2003, 23:8:48)

    [rename]
    nul=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\~f51e43.tmp
    nul=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\~f51e43.tmp
    nul=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\~f51e43.tmp
    nul=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\~f51e43.tmp
    nul=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\~f51e43.tmp

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [TDServer Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\TDSERVER.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://my.uo.com/fonts/tdserver.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RDXIE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.25.41/175e7f972230978ef702/netzip/RdxIE.cab

    [CDToolCtrl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CDTOOL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://free.aol.com/tryaolfree/cdt175/aolcdt175.cab

    [Register Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HWUTILS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://content.hiwirenetworks.net/inbrowser/cabfiles/2.5.26/Hiwire.cab

    [iPIX ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\IPIXX.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab

    [GSDACtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GSDA.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://launch.gamespyarcade.com/software/launch/alaunch.cab

    [ContentAuditX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\CONTEN~1.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/5805...ch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab

    [Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\OUTC.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab

    [OPUCatalog Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OPUC.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab

    [SnoopyCtrl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\PROGRAM FILES\EACOM\UPDATE\NPSNPY.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://aolcom.ea.com/downloads/games/common/snoopy/iesnoopy.cab

    [MaxViewer Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MAXX.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://support.scansoft.com/pp/files/np_max.cab

    [Hotmail Attachments Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HMATCHMT.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://sea1fd.sea1.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx

    [QuickTime Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

    [{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
    CODEBASE = http://apple.speedera.net/qtinstall.info.apple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CONFLICT.1\RDXIE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/23069049e76879d72d01/netzip/RdxIE6.cab

    [ExentInf Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\EXENTCTL_0_0_0_0.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://us.games2.yimg.com/download.games.yahoo.com/games/play/client/exentctl_0_0_0_0.ocx

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37594.564375

    [ActiveDataObj Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ACTIVEDATA.DLL
    CODEBASE = https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/ActiveData.cab

    [DmiReader Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\SYSPRO~1.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://ftp.us.dell.com/fixes/PROFILER.CAB

    [{65E7DB1D-0101-4100-BD66-C5C78C917F93}]
    CODEBASE = http://www.wildtangent.com/multiplayer/cannonsmmp/wtinst.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 7,393 bytes
    Report generated in 0.511 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only






    I apologize for the long post, but I am REALLY getting desperate here. Does anyone know what it is that might be using my machine up, and how I would go about 'cleaning' my system and getting it performing how it once was?

    Thanks in advance for ANY help, I really need it! :)
     
  2. ddriver

    ddriver

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Would you care to state your machine specs?
    Ram,etc.?
     
  3. ottnmia

    ottnmia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Yeah, sorry, i meant to do that:


    General System Information

    Windows Version ME



    Processors

    Central Processor
    Manufacturer Intel Corporation
    Product Name Pentium III processor
    Version Pentium(R)III
    External Clock Speed 133 Hz
    Maximum Clock Speed 733 Hz
    Current Clock Speed 733 Hz


    Memory Location: System board or motherboard
    Total Memory: 391436Kb
    Available Memory: 242512Kb
    Windows Page File Size: 1705712Kb
    Memory Slot 1 Description: [DIMM1] DIMM: 256 Mb DRAM
    Memory Slot 2 Description: [DIMM2] DIMM: 128 Mb DRAM


    Hardware (Built Into System)
    Type Description Enabled
    Sound Ensoniq ES1373 Audio Device Yes
    Video Intel GMCH AGP Graphics Controller Yes



    Dell won't give me my recent config for some reason. But that is all accurate. Again, thanks for help.


    ***PS--> Since the problems started I upgraded from 192MB ram to 384MB RAM. It really didn't seem to make much of a difference. Which led me to believe my problem was not RAM, but something eating up my processing.****
     
  4. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    Hello ottnmia and welcome to the forum!:p

    Please do this. Go to Start/Run. Type in msconfig then press enter. Click on the startup tab. Uncheck the following:

    PCHealth (This is most likely the culprit)
    Adaptec Direct CD
    Microsoft works Porfolio
    IgfxTray
    HotKeysCmds
    Microsoft Webserver (Unless you you are hosting a webserver)
    QuickTime Task
    MSConfigReminder

    Reboot when prompted.

    Let us know how it turns out.

    Kilowatt
     
  5. ottnmia

    ottnmia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Wow, it is lookin' better already! Thanks a bunch, Kilowatt! I'll give it a few days and see how things are, and give you all a report. And I'll certainly let all my friends know about this wonderful site.

    Thanks again, i REALLY appreciate it! =)
     
  6. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :D You're welcome. Hope it solves the problem.

    Kilowatt
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119392

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice