1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

startup problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Husker_Steve, Apr 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Husker_Steve

    Husker_Steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Just installed a Biostar M6VLQ with Celeron 1.3, and when you start it up the system runs for about 5-10 seconds and then powers off. Any ideas what could be causing this?
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Sounds like a heat issue. Did you apply thermal grease to the cpu and are all the fans running ?
     
  3. Husker_Steve

    Husker_Steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Yes I have applied thermal compound and the fans are working, that is the frustrating part.
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Are all drives detected i the bios ?
     
  5. Husker_Steve

    Husker_Steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    It does not stay on long enough to get into the bios.
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Remove the cmos battery for a couple minutes then reinsert it and attempt the bios view.
     
  7. deHakkelaar

    deHakkelaar

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    161
    Could be that CPU fan RPM's are not correctly passed to the mobo (mobo build in security if CPU fan fails it will power off)

    Try different CPU fan or more easy exchange the CPU fan connector with 1 of your case fan's if its got the same 3 lead connector !!! for diagnoses only !!!
    Ps. if the CPU fan only got 2 leads you'll probably need a different fan , 1 which registers RPM's with 3 leads.

    If still don't work , minimize your system hardware by disconnecting everything not needed except power supply , mobo , CPU , 1 memory module , VGA card & screen.
    By reconnecting hardware 1 at the time you can sometimes isolate the culprit.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/222752

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice