1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

statcounter.com

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sawat, Jan 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sawat

    sawat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    is it dead ? i no longer have website statistics ...
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you could contact them direct
    http://statcounter.com/help/
    Your email may be blocking as it may think its spam
    OR your email ISP may be blocking
     
  3. sawat

    sawat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    thanks for the suggestion but i cannot connect to statconter.com\help either with any browser.
    also i do not understand why you think it has something to do with email. my isp has not blocked the
    site. regards.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i assumed you had the website statistics emailed to you , as i used to have on a few of my websites years ago
    Did not realise you cannot access the website

    Its working fine , so see what results you get from a PING below

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping statcounter.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    -------------------------------------------------------

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 216.59.38.122
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    -----------------------------------------
     
  5. sawat

    sawat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    thanks again. the ping commands are successful although the dos box will not stay alive for long enough
    for me to copy it's contents and post here. what is making this problem really wierd, is that on the 2nd pc (i have a 2 pc network) i have no problem accessing statcounter.com and logging in.
    i checked and then exited kerio firewall but still no server access. not having site stats is not a disaster but a puzzle just the same. regards.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    use the CMD command to keep the box open
    in the search or run box type CMD

    how is the machine connected to the router - if by cable then try this
    keep tapping F8 as the pc starts and then choose
    safemode with networking
    see if that works
    if so then we know something is blocking in normal mode
     
  7. sawat

    sawat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    i should have mentioned that the pc with the problem is a winxp/win98se dual boot and it is in
    the win98se os that the problem occurs - the winxp os shows everthing correctly.
    win98se does not allow pausing of the dos box when start/run is used
    i vaguely remember using the dns file for site connections and i am currently looking for it.
    thanks and regards
    ps it must be nearly 3am in surrey .. when do you sleep ?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no its 13:51 in Surrey

    should be able to use command prompt in win98se
    i think its under accessories
     
  9. sawat

    sawat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    sorry about the time .. i did a 6+ instead of a 6- hours. pls send me your emai laddress. i have some topics i would like to discuss with you, regards PS a long time ago i was an IT consultant based in new malden and abroad
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973200

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice