1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Static I/P address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bluebottle2, Mar 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Hi,
    I have had a small issue with internet connectivity and was advised to resort to a static ip address, This advice came from a help forum of a PC magazine were i was helped to set up this address by supplying a copy of of my Windows IP configuration. I was then sent the steps to set up my static I/P address. My question is by supplying this info to a stranger albeit I asked for his/her help could my PC now be compromised.
    regards
    brian
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,211
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would not think - I asume you set up static ips for a router
    so something like
    192.168.x.x

    as you will see - we ask for ipconfig /all all the time

    Post a copy here - so we can see what you have set up
    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all

    -> Start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all
    post back the results here

    TWO Methods to do that - if you cannot access the internet with PC, then use method 2 to copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Method ONE -------------------------------------------------------------
    start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Method TWO -------------------------------------------------------------
    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:
    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Brian harrison>IPCONFIG/ALL C:\RESULT.TXT

    Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information.
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"

    C:\Documents and Settings\Brian harrison>
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,211
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you need to put a space between the G and /
     
  5. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I have done that,,no difference
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,211
    First Name:
    Wayne
    just do the first method I posted for the ipconfig /all
    and then use the method to copy here
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You forgot the > between ALL and C.
     
  8. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\<>>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : toybox
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-2A-BA-37-3E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.25
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 74.204.42.10
    208.204.42.10

    C:\Documents and Settings\>
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,211
    First Name:
    Wayne
    That will be fine nothing to worry about there - you are behind a router
    But I have edited out your name - not that that will matter much
     
  10. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Many thanks,
    Do you mean that all is ok with my set up as in the original question, sorry if I appear a bit naive but my knowledge in this area is a bit patchy.
    regards
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,211
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i thought you where just worried someone had talked you through setting a fixed IP address
    No it makes no difference - as you can see we have this type of info posted on almost every network forum post

    Now if you are asking about the best settings - we would need a lot more more info

    like
    how many pcs connected
    make and exact model of routers modem
     
  12. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    I have just one PC, I use a neatgear DG 834 G v4 router using the ethernet cable connect with the wireless disabled.
    On occassions i was experiencing internet connectivity problems with my pc reporting that there was "limited or no connectivity" windows could not repair it reporting that "your computer did not assign an IP address". In the past I just removed the power lead from my router waited a couple of mins reconnected and that usually fixed the problem.
    Wanting to Know why I asked for help on a PC mag forum were I was given help and info,this lead to my question here.
    regards
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,211
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if that's fixed the intermittent connection issues - we have fixed a few of those issues here by putting the DNS servers into the router , rather than a fixed IP and fixed DNS on the PC - but if its working and with your configuration - than your good...
     
  14. bluebottle2

    bluebottle2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks again, time will tell if this works.
    regards
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/909022

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice