1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

static ip address on dvr?????????????

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sagpat111, Jan 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    i would like to know how to get a static ip address from my security camera dvr because it keeps on changing on a regular basis and i have to keep on changing the ports number to view it on my phone. so can someone please tell me (really simply) on how to get a static ip address from my dvr.
    Thanks for reading!!!! :)
     
  2. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Does the DVR have a web GUI that's used for administration?
     
  3. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    well the brand is swann and it does have something that you can do online but that's just to get the ddns setup with registering the ddns!
    :)
     
  4. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Do you mean the IP address of the DVR changes, or your ISP assigned IP changes?
     
  5. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    the ip address of the dvr changes!!!
     
  6. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    What is the IP address of the DVR right now? (internal IP)
     
  7. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    sorry i dont really want to give it to a stranger but it starts of with 192.168
     
  8. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    There's nothing unique about an internal IP address, it's the external WAN IP you want to be more guarded about.

    What is the exact make and model of the DVR? Does the manual show how to access it's settings through a web GUI?
     
  9. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Do you have this screen on your setup page?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    yeah it is similar to that!!!
     
  11. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Then change DHCP to Static.
     
  12. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    hey sorry for a slow reply, i havent found time, ive tryed it and chose a ip adress with the open ports i need and it seems to work for now just dont hope it changes
     
  13. sagpat111

    sagpat111 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    and sorry for being so awkward!!(y)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1116752

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice