1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

stereo speakers into computer

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by nealiskool, Aug 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nealiskool

    nealiskool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    is there like a plug you can get so you can attatch the wire that is showing from the cable going into speakers i want to plug 2 stereo speakers into my computer sound card but the ends of the stereo speakers are just wire

    any help will be appreciated cheers
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    No,computer sound cards are not amplified.
    you would need some kind of amplifier to
    connect the speakers to.
     
  3. Piringa

    Piringa

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Depending on how big your speakers are if they are relatively small out of maybe a boombox or something you can maybe gut a good pair of speakers for compter and use the amp and wires that come with that and just mickymouse the speakers.

    It would help to give more details.

    What you can also do is just buy an audio cable that goes from 3.5 mm (headphone jack) to left and right RCA jacks and plug one end to the sound cards "out" connector and the rca jacks to an old stereo that has rca input jacks and hook up your speakers to the old stereo and you'd be all set.
     
  4. nealiskool

    nealiskool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    its a sony stereo but the stereo it self is broken so i only have the left and right speaker and im wanting to hook them into my computer, will i have to get an amplifier for them? and what plug because the wires coming from the speaker nd box is just a metal wire ends and no actual plug
     
  5. buffoon

    buffoon

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19,165
    Nope!!! You'll need to connect yr speakers (they're passive, i.e. not amplified) to some amplifier (as you did before). Then connect yr PCs
    audio ouput into the amp's input. Remember also, if you do that, that both amplifier and PC-programme (whichever) have volume control. Make sure not to oversteer both (best set PC volume at midrange and then work the volume level with the amp). Otherwise, depending on their impedance, you could fry your speakers.
     
  6. nealiskool

    nealiskool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    what about a complete stereo system with lyk a Cd changer ect that the speakers are connected to is there a cable i can connect from that to the computer so it will play my computer stuff (is that the AUX in thing?)
     
  7. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yes,if the stereo has auxillary inputs,you can get a mini plug to RCA
    adapter plug and RCA audio cables and connect it.
    If the AUX is a mini plug,then you just need an audio cable with
    male miniplugs on it.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/743109

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice