1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Still can not load NAV'04

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by michele2701, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. michele2701

    michele2701 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks to the fine help I received on line, I am no longer getting the ActiveX error. My next conquest is the installation of NAV '04. I removed NAV'01 and went to the registery to make sure there were no NAV stuff. When I put in the '04 disk, the install window comes up. When you click on install, you still get the timepiece for a millisecond and the disk stops running. Any ideas?
     
  2. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    Which operating system are you using? That will help me answer your question. Liz
     
  3. michele2701

    michele2701 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    I am using windows 2000 professional service pack 4
     
  4. southernlady

    southernlady

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,929
    Okay, I'm a little unfamiliar with Windows 2000 so I may be telling you how to get to this the wrong way. But if I do, I'm sure someone will correct me.

    Go to Start>My Computer> Then right click on the CD-R/W drive with the CD that has Norton on it. One of the options should be AutoPlay. Left Click it. That should make it run. Liz
     
  5. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,906
  6. michele2701

    michele2701 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    thank you for your help!!!! I hope this works
     
  7. michele2701

    michele2701 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you for the advice. When we uninstalled NAV '01, it was quite a job to do through the registry and find all the fragments of NAV.

    Thank you so much!!!!!!
     
  8. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,906
    Well I hope that one of the articles fixes your problem but, if not, there are some special tools you can get from Symantec to clean your system of all traces of earlier products, because Symantec programs are extremely sensitive to bits of their own coding that are left behind after uninstalls.

    I understand that the tools may not work fully with newer versions, but there are detailed manual uninstall instructions available for NAV 2004;http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...=2004 for Windows 2000/Me/98/XP&osv=&osv_lvl=

    PS. Checking back, I see that you never got a completed install of 2004, so you shouldn't need the manual uninstall details. However, if the 2004 CD still won't install, you may need the Symantec Rnav tool (or even SymClean) to get rid of any leftovers.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273845

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice