1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

STOP: 0x0000001E

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Wayne72, Nov 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wayne72

    Wayne72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    I installed a webcam back in May and it worked fine until now, everytime i try to use my webcam now it goes to the blue screen, with the first line saying STOP: 0x000000E1 (0xC000005, 0xFC2F30C3, 0x00000000, 0x0459C0F4) and the second line says KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED and thats it. I have a windows 2000 5.00.2195 Service Pack 4 and the cam im using is Elitech PC-319-SL
     
  2. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    If you still have the software disk for your cam you can reinstall it. Some of its files may have become corrupted and cause the blue screen of death computer crash.
     
  3. Wayne72

    Wayne72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    I have tried to reinstall numerous times, but with the same result, to find the file tho to install it it only has Windows XP and Windows98 as choices
     
  4. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    Once installed you can go to:

    start/programs (or "all programs") and then find your cam software on the menu and and then right click on it and then select properties on the menu and then click the "compatibility" tab and you might be able to change its compatibility mode to a lesser version of Windows to see if that helps.
     
  5. Wayne72

    Wayne72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    I had a script given to me to use on a chatsite, and it changed it from .exe to .rar, could that be areason the camera is not working now?
     
  6. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    Yes. Changing the file extension of a .exe file to .rar will stop it from running. .rar is WinRAR. It is a file compressor and opener.

    Make your selections to show your file extension on the end of file names and change the last three being .rar back to .exe
     
  7. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    Tools > Folder Options > View tab

    uncheck Hide extensions for known file types

    and then rename the file from .exe to .rar

    By the way, why did you changed it to .rar?
     
  8. Wayne72

    Wayne72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    The people that give me the script said it would not work without WinRAR
     
  9. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    ok, WinRAR is a software that can compress files, like WinZip, the difference is it is .rar and not .zip.

    Now, the thing you've done is, you renamed that file to .rar, I guess what 'the people' trying to say to you is you must have WinRAR. I don't know what's the reason why they said you must have WinRAR, maybe you can ask them.
     
  10. Wayne72

    Wayne72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Will do thanks, by the way, where do u go to change the file name to .exe?
     
  11. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    I posted it on Post #7

    By the way, here it is:

    Tools > Folder Options > View tab

    uncheck Hide extensions for known file types

    and then rename the file from .rar to .exe
     
  12. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
     
  13. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    needafix, my post over there is wrong, didn't notice it. :p Here's the one:

    Tools > Folder Options > View tab

    uncheck Hide extensions for known file types

    and then rename the file from .rar to .exe
     
  14. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    .

    :eek:

    .
     
  15. Wayne72

    Wayne72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Color me stupid but what file are we talking about?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/416213

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice