stop a website displaying my service provider?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ajrobson

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
283
Not sure if this is the right place or even possible but here goes.

I visit a forum and on the forum next to any post you make it also shows part of your service provider e.g. ---.zone4.bethere.co.uk or ---.hsd1.or.comcast.net. my question is is there a way to stop this or make it display something else?

I ask because my service provider is very specfic and i don't want people who use the site to know my provider (for reason i dont want to go into lol this sounds liek a weird thing its nothing dodgy or weird i promise!)

anyway is there a way to not have it displayed (there is no option on the forums) or have it show something different.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
That's apparently a forum thing for that specific forum. They obviously query the available information for your ISP and display it for some reason. There may be a configuration in your account options to hide it, have you checked? Are you SURE that it's publicly displayed? It might just be visible to you and perhaps board administration.

If you post a link to one of your posts, we can tell you if a guest can also see it.
 

ajrobson

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
283
Here is a link to a thread on the forum
I have looked in all the options but there is no mention of this or any way to turn it off.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Well, you're right, I see all of them posted alongside the names. Clearly, this is something the forum does, it's not usual. Have you asked their administration how to disable it?

Obviously, the administration can disable it, this is from that thread.

Re: Get day of week

Posted by: lingoMaster (212.219.63.---)
Date: September 24, 2008 06:02AM
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top