Stop error 221

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AAAmen

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
5
Stop error 221
I am attempting to install Win2k Professional. Each time, when I get to the screen that reads “Starting Windows” I get the blue screen and Stop error 221. I have removed everything from my Pentium II 400 system (soundcard, modem, IEEE card, NIC card).I still get the same result. However when I install Win98, everything appears to work fine. The error alludes to a mismatch checksum. Can someone shed some light?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
A Stop error 221 can mean a bad partition or hard drive. Try deleting all partitions, recreate, and format them.
 

AAAmen

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
5
No such luck Dan . But I do appreciate the effort. Thanks. May I also add the first paragraph of the error message......Which is

" Stop Error 00000221{Bad Image Checksum}

The image Version.dll is possibly corrupt. The header checksum does not match the computed checksum."
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
The extra information did help. I found these two item for you but you have done most of what is suggested:

1. Error Message: “Stop Error 0x00000221 (Status image checksum mismatch)”

Translation: The installer program found a corrupt driver or DLL (dynamic-link library) for some hardware device.

Solution: Turn your PC off, open the case, and take out all hardware cards not required for the setup. Leave your video card (and SCSI card if you have a SCSI hard drive or CD), but remove your modem, sound card, scanner card, network adapter, MPEG decoder, etc. After the OS is installed, shut down the machine, plug in one card at a time, boot into the OS, install the drivers for the card, and configure it. Begin with the sound card (because it consumes a lot of resources) and then add your network card, modem card, and others. If you get this error message again, then the hardware you are installing is probably not compatible with your version of Windows. Check with your hardware vendor or Microsoft’s Hardware Compatibility List.

2. I also found information that a BIOS update may fix the problem. Once updated you must enter the CMOS Setup Utility by pressing the DELETE or F1 key and save the CMOS settings.
 

AAAmen

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
5
Well...................
I tried the step of removing every component card, reformatting and reinstalling the OS. The system is completely empty just like you suggest, but I can't get pass this Stop error.,
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Then I would guess it's must be the BIOS. Have you looked into getting an upgrade?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top