stop it from running ;_;

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dez_666

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
842
Okay ive tried a few ways but i cant for the life of me stop AIM from running on other people's accounts!

i tried removing the registry entry and just adding a startup item to ONLY my startup folder, and i also tried using gpedit.msc to make a rule to disallow aim.exe from running. and there are NO startup entries that can be found using autoruns.exe :mad:

any ideas anyone?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Uninstall AIM and lose AOL! Problem solved! :D

OK, is this XP-Home or XP-Pro, or some other version of Windows? If it's XP-Pro, you may be able to do this with group policies.
 

dez_666

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
842
yes, i have pro, but i dont have much experience with gpedit.msc or group policies. D:
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
48
Go to or create this key in the registry:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\DisallowRun]

create a new DWORD Value and name it '1' (without the quotes)
change its vale to the name of the program you dont ever want your computer to run. (example: cmd.exe)

Hope this helps. Hope I didn't tell you anything that you already knew.
 

dez_666

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
842
Will this disallow it on a user basis..? I only want to stop it from running on one account on my PC. I have XP Pro btw :D
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
The registry tweak will disable it for all users.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
48
you could log on to the user that you don't want it to run on and modify the registry at this NEW path: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explo rer\DisallowRun]
NOW, create a new DWORD Value and name it '1' (without the quotes)
change its vale to the name of the program you dont ever want your computer to run. (example: cmd.exe)
 

dez_666

Thread Starter
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
842
And this will disable it only for that user if i log on as them and add this entry, correct? :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top