Stop ZOOM with touchpad

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

df1995

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
5
My Windows 10 laptop has a touchpad. Often, clicking the pad or even moving it will change the zoom on the browser screen. This especially occurs in Outlook. I want to disable this completely.

The settings do NOT provide for eliminating ZOOM. The driver is "HID-Compliant mouse on USB device" from MS. Driver version 10.0.15063.0
06/21/2006
mouclass.sys
mouhid.sys
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,641
Control panel, Mouse. Do you have a tab for your touchpad? What is the hardware? (choices are Alps, Elan, Synaptics)

Example: mine is an Elan. When I select that tab, the select multi-finger, I can disable the zoom feature.
 
Last edited:

df1995

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
5
Unfortunately, there is no tab for the touchpad and the mouse settings have no way of disabling zoom. There is no specific manufacturer for the mouse/ touchpad. I assume the files I listed above are MS Windows files, although a techie at the MS Disability desk denies that they are. This techie told me that my problem is a HARDWARE issue for which MS is not responsible. Of course this is so obviously a SOFTWARE issue.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
Hardware drivers are the responsibility of the hardware manufacturer and the correct answer is to go to the laptop's specific support page to download and install the touchpad drivers which will then give you the option you seek to disable. If they don't have any for Windows 10 (which is what I suspect you are running), drivers for Windows 7 or 8 will work.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,931
Tell us the make and full model of the laptop please.
 

df1995

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
5
This girl is an Epic Teqnio EL12oT 12.5" Ultraslim. Epic does not respond to my emails.

There is a Mouse Properties I found on "main.cpl" but it lacks a touchpad option.

It runs Windows 10 64 bit. On the "About" page it states that it has "Touch Support with 10 Touch Points" (I don't know if this is relevant).

There is no mouse or touchpad manufacturer specified. It just says HID-Compliant mouse on USB.

Here it is at WalMart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Epik-Teq...0-Processor-2GB-RAM-32GB-Flash-Drive/55474687

I appreciate the kind help you all are providing.
 
Last edited:

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,931
Let's see if we can find out what touchpad you actually have.

Right click on Start > Device Manager (DM) > click the arrow next to HID... then right click on the revealed device > Properties > Details tab, click the down arrow then click on Hardware IDs, right click the top line in the Value window and copy and paste it into your next reply.

If you don't see HID in DM is there anything else there that could be the trackpad ?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
Because it is using the native driver, you don't have the normal options for a Synaptics/Elan/etc. touchpad so we need to roll up our sleeves, get brave, and pray a little.
First, do WinKey+R to open a Run Window. In it, type REGEDIT<enter> and allow it when the UAC prompt happens. In REGEDIT do Edit -> Find (or CTRL-F) and search for ZoomEnabled . Hopefully; it will appear in something like HCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PrecisionTouchpad. If it is there, right-click on it, choose Modify, and change the value to 0 <zero> which should disable it. Reboot and see if that did the trick.
If the ZoomEnabled is not found by REGEDIT, Your only hope is to get in touch with EPIK and hope they will help you.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,641
The OP has a 12.5" rather than a 14". There isn't a 12.5" shown on the site.

It also only has 2GB of RAM, which is criminal on a Windows 10 computer and a really cramped 32GB ssd. (16GB - 20GB will be taken up by the OS and not too much room left over for files).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top