Solved Strange Favicons: Does it mean anything?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ziera

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
I noticed my bookmarks for Amazon and my modem had favicons that are not the ones they are supposed to have. I cleared all my caches to no avail. The Amazon icon cleared and returned to the normal Amazon favicon when I cleared site data. The modem remains. I'm attaching the favicon it has. Does anybody recognize it? My machine scans clean with Malwarebytes. I'm going to run an Avast complete scan.

No idea how these got changed, but does it mean anything?
 

Attachments

Ziera

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
I just bookmarked Malwarebytes and it has this favicon. I looked at their site and the favicon file they are using is not this one.
malwarebytes favicon (or is it).JPG

Does anyone recognize this favicon as a legitimate favicon?
 

Ziera

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
Chrome. Sorry I should have specified. I noticed on another computer I use elsewhere (work) I have the same favicon (I forget which bookmark, and I'm not there).

Only getting it with Chrome. I know there are issues with favicons and different browsers. I'm just wondering if it might be an indication of an exploitation having been done on my machine(s). None of my scanners find anything. I do routinely remove A LOT of tracking cookies.

I'm also wondering if anyone here has seen the favicon I'm getting. It sort of resembles something from Malwarebytes, but I looked at their site and don't find any links to a favicon like the one I'm getting. Also the favicon has now turned white after I tried my limited bag of tricks to try to reset everything that might cause it.
 

Attachments

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,552
Actually I have them too on some of my bookmarks in Chrome.

If you have your google account signed in on both machines the bookmarks will sync.
 

Ziera

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
Oh. My. God. I'm really am a stupid user. [and paranoid as hell]

Actually I wondered if it was part of Chrome's defaults, but I couldn't find it.

btw, Chrome sign-in got enabled during an update or something. I disabled it.

Thank you.
 

Ziera

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
6
I noticed my bookmarks for Amazon and my modem had favicons that are not the ones they are supposed to have. I cleared all my caches to no avail. The Amazon icon cleared and returned to the normal Amazon favicon when I cleared site data. The modem remains. I'm attaching the favicon it has. Does anybody recognize it? My machine scans clean with Malwarebytes. I'm going to run an Avast complete scan.

No idea how these got changed, but does it mean anything?
Consider this one solved - favicon appears to be part of Chrome's defaults.

Thanks everyone.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top