1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Strange Fluctuating Memory

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Vene, Apr 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vene

    Vene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Hello, I have a Windows Vista Inspiron 1521. I've noticed several months ago, that my memory seems to fluctuate a lot. It's been like this for months, but this time I noticed a big fluctuation from about 8.00 GB to 15.9 GB. It usually does rise and fall, without me adding or deleting anything. I tried to play a game recently and an error comes up saying that I only have 1 MB of memory, and it didn't allow me to play the game. I check my memory and it's 15.9 GB, so I'm completely confused.

    I'm afraid it might be some virus that hides the true memory I have and does something to it. Has anyone experienced this or knows what this could be and what program would be suitable for deletion of this potential virus?

    Thanks.
     
  2. BillVB

    BillVB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Well, this problem does appear to be the workings of a bit of malware...

    But when you use the term 'memory' do you mean hard disk or RAM, and how big is you hard disk or RAM.
     
  3. Vene

    Vene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Well, I open up My Computer, and view the C Drive where the bar tells you how much free memory space I have and how much the computer has in total. So, right now it's at 15.9 GB free out of 136GB. A few days ago, the amount of free memory I had was at about 8.00 GB, then it goes up that much and I'm guessing later on it's going to go back down again.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    That's not memory. That's hard drive space. The differences are relatively insignificant given the total drive capacity. A fluctuation of a few GB on a ~136GB drive isn't terribly out of the ordinary.
     
  5. BillVB

    BillVB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Okay, now I have that cleared up.

    Look at the processes in the Task Manager, are there any there that you haven't seen before, or that are using a lot of CPU?

    Also, have you tried issuing a Disk Quota? Try doing that to limit the usage to whatever it is at the time, and see if it continues to 'fluctuate' or if any errors appear.
     
  6. Vene

    Vene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    K, I'm sorry, I just looked up the difference between memory and RAM and I understand that now, so I'm sorry for that, I simply didn't know the difference.

    I usually do look at the task manager Bill to see if anything new is there, but this time there's nothing that wasn't there before. No, I've never issued a Disk Quota. What exactly is that and what does it do?
     
  7. digitalsatori

    digitalsatori

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    I'd suspect your pagefile is the reason your hard drive space is fluctuating. Windows generates a file for temporary RAM storage if you haven't used a particular item in memory for a while (for example, if you leave your web browser minimized). As DoubleHelix suggested, a few gigs is not really surprising considering your drive is about 130gigs.

    What about removing some programs or files that you aren't using? If you're almost full with a 136 gig drive, there may be something you can free up elsewhere.
     
  8. Vene

    Vene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    The error message that came up when I tried playing a game said my hard drive only has 1 MB of free space, what I don't understand is why it would say that if the C drive says I have 15 GB of space. Strangely enough I can play two other games just fine.
     
  9. BillVB

    BillVB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    You can instruct to delete your pagefile upon shutdown/restart.

    However, I'm not aware of an internal way of doing it, but I know that TuneUp Utilities has a module on there that can do it for you.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920321