1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Strike f1 to retry boot, f2 to enter system utility

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SaltAir041, Dec 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SaltAir041

    SaltAir041 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    I tryed reinstalling my OS to clean up my hardrive and halfway through installing my os my computer reset and I got this error

    Strike f1 to retry boot, f2 to enter system utility

    I figured that maybe it was a hardrive problem so I went out and bought a new hardrive

    I put my new hardrive in the dell screen loads up. The computer beeps twice and it goes to a black screen with nothing but

    Strike f1 to retry boot, f2 to enter system utility

    on the screen. When I hit f1 it repeats the message. When I hit f2 it takes me to my bios. I checked my bios and under harddrive it has my hardrives model and capacity, Everything is ok and it locates my hardrive. I also ran my IDE Diagnostics and It passed. So if it can find my hardrive what else could be the problem?

    I am running a Dell Dimension 4600, It doesnt have a floppy drive and All I have are the dell discs with it including the os disc. I tried putting the os disc in but I still get the error.

    Your thoughts?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. 4steve44

    4steve44

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,544
    Sorry the disk you have from Dell from hell is just a restore disk. Restored from the hd you just replaced. The restore disk will not work on the new drive you just bought :eek:
     
  4. SaltAir041

    SaltAir041 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    so buying windows xp will fix my problem?
     
  5. SirKenin

    SirKenin Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    964
    No, buying Windows XP will not fix your problem. There is nothing wrong with the restore disks you have and the new HDD. The restore disks aren't tied to the drive, they are tied to the mainboard.

    I'm not quite sure what it is, considering it is a proprietary rig. I would be checking the RAM myself if I was working on it. My last resort would be to consider the mainboard. So try the RAM idea and see if that solves any problems. It's a long shot, but the mainboard is even a longer one. :p Other than that, I have no idea what to suggest.
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Do you have the full Dell diagnostic disc? If so run all of the tests.
     
  7. SaltAir041

    SaltAir041 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    yeah the memory and everything are fine, I am not 100% sure about my motherboard though.
     
  8. SaltAir041

    SaltAir041 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    hopfuly I can pick out the right kind of motherboard
     
  9. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    I would post your problem in the Dell Forum . If a new MB is needed it's a good place to ask about that also. Dell is supposedly now using standard PS wiring but I think the MB and case setup are still proprietary.
     
  10. lansens

    lansens

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Have you reset your bios to default settings?
     
  11. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    Have you tryed partitioning and formatting your new drive yet?
     
  12. The_Roman

    The_Roman

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    LISTEN CAREFULLY........... I HAVE THE SOLUTION............. I HAD THE SAME ISSUE.. ALL IT IS IS A BIOS RESET.. THEN THE MOTHERBOARD WILL FIND THE NEW HARDWARE.. THIS IS WHAT YOU DO........


    WHEN THAT SCREEN F1 OR F2 SCREEN COMES UP MAKE SURE...
    1) CAPS LOCK LIGHT IS ON
    2) NUMBERS LOCK LIGHT IS ON
    3) SCROLL LOCK LIGHT IS ON
    ALL 3 LIGHTS ON KEYBOARD MUST BE ON...
    THEN YOU PRESS ...
    1) (ALT TAB) E
    2) (ALT TAB) F
    3) (ALT TAB) B
    THE COMPUTER WILL RESTART ON ITS OWN AND THATS IT YOUR DONE.. BIOS ARE RESET... THANKS AND LATER.....
    The_Roman:) (y) :D
     
  13. catdancin

    catdancin

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks so much for this site and for "The Roman" who posted that great answer (which worked like a charm!). Thank God for the internet. How many hours would we burn on a problem like this trying to find the right answer... Here's another link to the same solution and some others from a former Dell tech...
    [start link] http://www.dellcommunity.com/suppor...ddrive&message.id=50845&c=us&l=en&cs=19&s=dhs [end link]
    Tomorrow will be a much better day!
    catdancin'
     
  14. The_Roman

    The_Roman

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    So happy to be of some service to you... i know the feeling when the allmighty computer is down..... !!!! :mad:
     
  15. MetaRCK

    MetaRCK

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks to the links from Catdancin" and the Roman's advice, I very confidently tried the steps listed and followed the previous Dell Techs recommended proceedure. I was very thankful for the new knowledge, but alas, I am still getting the screen for F1 and F2... on my Dell Dimension 2400. I removed each PCI, and disconnected each drive, then reconnected each individually... The new hard drive passed the diagnostics.
    Oh my...
    I set the boot sequence in the Bios screen to the DVD drive which is the secondary master, and I "uninstalled" the floppy drive though there is still the "diskette seek failure".
    I will so appreciate assistance!!!!!!
    Thanks!
     
  16. The_Roman

    The_Roman

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I am Glad that someone had a chance to read this thread. i know what a ***** it can be to have a stupid issue like that to ruin hours and hours of your time. peace out ... The_Roman
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Strike retry boot
  1. zuenvice
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    579
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/423706