Stuck at Acquiring Network Address

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

maryel

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
3
Hi guys,

I was connected on wifi and all of a sudden I got disconnected and hasn't been able to connect since. This happened Sunday night and it's now Thursday. I got stuck on acquiring network address. I've been using the same wifi connection for about 7 months now and this never happened before.

All the other laptops at home (Mac and XP) could connect except me. I tried to google over my phone but still wasn't able to fix it.

This is what the ipconfig says:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Maryel Roman>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : compaq
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-3A-F8-CA

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-8B-6F-BB
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

I tried to manually configure the IP address (I don't even know my basis I just had to do whatever I could cos I badly need the connection). I would connect but still couldn't use the internet so I went back to automatic one. This time though it wasn't stuck on acquiring network address but it says limited connectivity and below is what the ipconfig says:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Maryel Roman>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : compaq
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-3A-F8-CA

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-8B-6F-BB
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.117.165
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.117.165

C:\Documents and Settings\Maryel Roman>

Today, it connects alright to another wifi connection at a different place. I know there are so many scenarios but I hope you guys could help me fix it. Apologies, if I don't know much about these things.

If it helps, this is what the ipconfig says now that I am connected at some other place:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Maryel Roman>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : compaq
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-8B-6F-BB
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 20, 2011 09:06:29
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 21, 2011 09:06:29

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-3A-F8-CA

C:\Documents and Settings\Maryel Roman>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,830
Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. Assuming success you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
 

maryel

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
3
it may seem really stupid but how do I do both of that exactly? Thanks.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,830
To disable encryption login to the router, preferably with an ethernet connection, navigate to the wireless section and set the encryption (or security) mode to 'off' or 'none' or 'disabled' or similar. If you don't have the router user manual on CD you can probably find it on the web.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
13
that 169.254 address your getting is just a default address it reverts to if it doesn't get an ip. so really you're still not getting an IP address. do you have password authentication set up to connect to your wireless? it seems like it just isn't authenticating which is why you're not getting an ip. Disconnect from the wireless and reconnect. It should prompt you to enter in the id and password to connect to your wireless if you need a password to do so.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top