1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Stuck at Orientation screen in Diskeeper 7.0 in XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by asbo, Jan 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. asbo

    asbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    507
    Ok, running XPHome, and trying to get Diskeeper 7 to work. I have tried both Diskeeper server and workstation, and both did the same thing:

    Ok, installed without a hitch. Then I tried to run it, but I couldn't get the Orientation window to close. Then I tried to edit the key that tells DK to open the Orientation screen in the first place. XP said that the edit failed for an error it didn't tell me anything about. I also tried to edit in safe mode. Again, edit failed. I am getting seriously frusterated now. I have checked site FAQ, nothing there even remotely related. Tried with reboots and such. Still no luck. This is getting VERY frusterating now.

    Can anyone help me out? If you need any info, let me know.

    Thanks,
    asbo
     
  2. asbo

    asbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    507
    There's gotta be someone out there with this same problem... or have at least seen it/sovled it...

    Please help!!
     
  3. asbo

    asbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    507
    Anyone?? Please!!
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Sorry. Installed it on quite a few workstations with XP and never had a problem.
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    What's the key you are trying to edit?
    Are you logged in with an admin account?
     
  6. asbo

    asbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    507
    Bob,

    The string value "SS_Orient"
    and yes. There is only 1 account set up, which has admin capabilities.

    BTW, do those workstations have SP1?

    Thanks,
    asbo
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Changing the SS_Orient made no difference for whether the Orientation screen showed up.

    However when check or uncheck the box to show the screen, the actual key that changed was "Orient" under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Executive Software\Diskeeper\UserSettings
     
  8. asbo

    asbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    507
    Ah ha! I'm not at home at the minute, but as soon as I do get there, I'll test that out and let you know.

    Thanks!
    asbo
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Stuck Orientation screen
  1. Caznyo
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    705
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113454

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice