Stuck on Post-Boot up and Entering Setup Screen

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mbarnby90

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2013
Messages
13
Hey,
Let me just start out saying Thank you, For the help and I was recommend this site from a lot of people. I try to do as much on my own but it only gets you so far. I have read Pages and Pages on seeing if I can find a fix. I will try to explain the best I can and tell you as much as I can. If I have not said something right or not told you something please just let me know so I can fix it.


The problem started Yesterday when My HDD went bad I could see it was a bad hard drive it was already making noises and very slow so I knew it was going to happen. I had a few other HDD's laying around 1 IDE 60gbs Tried that one but It just would not install windows saying that it could not install windows because the system might not be able to boot from it. So I went and got another HDD I had laying around which was a 60gb Sata drive I plugged it back in the same spot. Then I loaded it up had the Windows 7 disk in already I got to the post-boot screen where it says Press DEL for Bios and Tab for SETUP? it kept freezing at that point so I finally restarted and Pressed TAB real quick which got me to a screen that says AMERICAN MAGATRENDS. That's when I noticed that it was saying the Drive was 3rd Master which seemed odd to me because It was not set for that before. I didn't think nothing of it and then there was two options to press DEL for setup and F8 for BBS POPUP I have tried both options and they both just stay stuck on that screen. I said OK! maybe its just another HDD problem. So I got Another HDD which was already in a Windows 7 Rig had windows 7 already installed on it. I put that one in the same place as the other two. I loaded right up went to the desktop Perfect, It was fast no sign of errors no noise or anything. Of course I could not just keep that copy of windows on because it was installed on another rig with different configs Hdd, Video-card, sound-cardhttp://www.currys.co.uk/sound-card.html. So I put the windows 7 disk in got to the reinstall screen It was going good copied all the files over like it usaly does when installing windows but at the restart it FROZE right at the post boot screen again. Now its showing this HDD as the 3rd master drive again and FREEZING on both screens as before.

ASUS A8N32-SLI-DELUXE ACPI BIOS REVISION 1405
CPU: Dual AMD Opteron PRocessor 170


Sec Master: PIONEER DVD ( ULTRA DMA MODE-2
3rd Master: HDS728080PLA380 PF20A6EA ( ULTRA DMA Mode-6, S.M.A.R.T Capable and Status OK

2gbs or RAM both tested one at a time and both in a different rig

Thank you again, and Please if possible try to talk to me like I have half a brain
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Hello & Welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

Would you describe yourself as a beginning, intermediate or advanced computer user?

What's the boot order?

Is each HDD in your bios enabled for booting?

How did you test the ram?
I recommending running the mem diag on the W7 DVD for a minimum of 8 hrs / stick.

Check the data cables for defects. Be sure that they are snuggly secured.

Disconnect all peripherals except mouse, monitor, power & keyboard.

Remove all add in cards.

Disconnect all internal drives, to include USB, except HDD & optical drive.

Re-set your bios.

RF123
 

mbarnby90

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2013
Messages
13
Would you describe yourself as a beginning, intermediate or advanced computer user?

intermediate

What's the boot order?

CD > HDD > Floppy

Is each HDD in your bios enabled for booting?

There is only one HDD in the rig and Yes it was ( Can't get to BIOS anymore )

How did you test the ram?
I recommending running the mem diag on the W7 DVD for a minimum of 8 hrs / stick.

I tested them in two different machines 1 time I did 1 one stick at a time and the other machine I did both sticks together and both worked. ( Not sure if this helps but they worked about 3hrs ago befor I changed Hard drives )

Check the data cables for defects. Be sure that they are snuggly secured.

Done and Done

Disconnect all peripherals except mouse, monitor, power & keyboard.

Done and Done


Remove all add in cards.

Video card only in because motherboard doesn't have a GPU
( Tested on another Machine )

Disconnect all internal drives, to include USB, except HDD & optical drive.

Done and Done

Re-set your bios.

Can't get in to the Bios Menu is there another way?


Thank you,
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Read the manual to find out how to re-set the BIOS; might be, using electrostatic precautions, remove the motherboard battery for 30 seconds and / or move the reset jumper. NOT the same thing as the reset cable from the power button on the case.

RF123
 

mbarnby90

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2013
Messages
13
Read the manual to find out how to re-set the BIOS; might be, using electrostatic precautions, remove the motherboard battery for 30 seconds and / or move the reset jumper. NOT the same thing as the reset cable from the power button on the case.

RF123
The Manual required for both Remove battery then put the jumper on to pin 2 and 3 for 15-20 sec and then put back on to 1 and 2 and replace battery and turn on press DEL for BiosSETUP.

I did all this and it got my back to the same screen except the Press Del for setup Writing as gone from the American Megrends screen where it shows what the drives are detected. Not the post Boot screen
 

mbarnby90

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2013
Messages
13
Just thought I would add that the BBS Is for Boot Selection Popup menu but when I click that it still gets stuck on the same screen it just changes the writing from Press F8 for BBS POPUP to Boot Selection Popup Menu as been selected and then nothing happens.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Are you or are you not able to enter the BIOS?

If not, have edit: you end edit reset the BIOS using a jumper and / or removing the battery on the motherboard?

RF123
 

mbarnby90

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2013
Messages
13
I can't enter the Bios at all. I did do the jumper pin to reset them and kept my finger on DEL but it just brought me to the same Post boot screen. I'm going to figure out how I can get the webcam pictures from flipping and I will get you some pictures.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top