1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Stuck on Post-Boot up and Entering Setup Screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mbarnby90, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Hey,
    Let me just start out saying Thank you, For the help and I was recommend this site from a lot of people. I try to do as much on my own but it only gets you so far. I have read Pages and Pages on seeing if I can find a fix. I will try to explain the best I can and tell you as much as I can. If I have not said something right or not told you something please just let me know so I can fix it.


    The problem started Yesterday when My HDD went bad I could see it was a bad hard drive it was already making noises and very slow so I knew it was going to happen. I had a few other HDD's laying around 1 IDE 60gbs Tried that one but It just would not install windows saying that it could not install windows because the system might not be able to boot from it. So I went and got another HDD I had laying around which was a 60gb Sata drive I plugged it back in the same spot. Then I loaded it up had the Windows 7 disk in already I got to the post-boot screen where it says Press DEL for Bios and Tab for SETUP? it kept freezing at that point so I finally restarted and Pressed TAB real quick which got me to a screen that says AMERICAN MAGATRENDS. That's when I noticed that it was saying the Drive was 3rd Master which seemed odd to me because It was not set for that before. I didn't think nothing of it and then there was two options to press DEL for setup and F8 for BBS POPUP I have tried both options and they both just stay stuck on that screen. I said OK! maybe its just another HDD problem. So I got Another HDD which was already in a Windows 7 Rig had windows 7 already installed on it. I put that one in the same place as the other two. I loaded right up went to the desktop Perfect, It was fast no sign of errors no noise or anything. Of course I could not just keep that copy of windows on because it was installed on another rig with different configs Hdd, Video-card, sound-card. So I put the windows 7 disk in got to the reinstall screen It was going good copied all the files over like it usaly does when installing windows but at the restart it FROZE right at the post boot screen again. Now its showing this HDD as the 3rd master drive again and FREEZING on both screens as before.

    ASUS A8N32-SLI-DELUXE ACPI BIOS REVISION 1405
    CPU: Dual AMD Opteron PRocessor 170


    Sec Master: PIONEER DVD ( ULTRA DMA MODE-2
    3rd Master: HDS728080PLA380 PF20A6EA ( ULTRA DMA Mode-6, S.M.A.R.T Capable and Status OK

    2gbs or RAM both tested one at a time and both in a different rig

    Thank you again, and Please if possible try to talk to me like I have half a brain
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Hello & Welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

    Would you describe yourself as a beginning, intermediate or advanced computer user?

    What's the boot order?

    Is each HDD in your bios enabled for booting?

    How did you test the ram?
    I recommending running the mem diag on the W7 DVD for a minimum of 8 hrs / stick.

    Check the data cables for defects. Be sure that they are snuggly secured.

    Disconnect all peripherals except mouse, monitor, power & keyboard.

    Remove all add in cards.

    Disconnect all internal drives, to include USB, except HDD & optical drive.

    Re-set your bios.

    RF123
     
  3. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    What is BBS POPUP?

    RF123
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  5. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Would you describe yourself as a beginning, intermediate or advanced computer user?

    intermediate

    What's the boot order?

    CD > HDD > Floppy

    Is each HDD in your bios enabled for booting?

    There is only one HDD in the rig and Yes it was ( Can't get to BIOS anymore )

    How did you test the ram?
    I recommending running the mem diag on the W7 DVD for a minimum of 8 hrs / stick.

    I tested them in two different machines 1 time I did 1 one stick at a time and the other machine I did both sticks together and both worked. ( Not sure if this helps but they worked about 3hrs ago befor I changed Hard drives )

    Check the data cables for defects. Be sure that they are snuggly secured.

    Done and Done

    Disconnect all peripherals except mouse, monitor, power & keyboard.

    Done and Done


    Remove all add in cards.

    Video card only in because motherboard doesn't have a GPU
    ( Tested on another Machine )

    Disconnect all internal drives, to include USB, except HDD & optical drive.

    Done and Done

    Re-set your bios.

    Can't get in to the Bios Menu is there another way?


    Thank you,
     
  6. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    No idea I should Google It. ( It gets stuck when I press the F8 to get in to it.
    I checked again and it does say BBS POPUP
     
  7. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Read the manual to find out how to re-set the BIOS; might be, using electrostatic precautions, remove the motherboard battery for 30 seconds and / or move the reset jumper. NOT the same thing as the reset cable from the power button on the case.

    RF123
     
  9. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    The Manual required for both Remove battery then put the jumper on to pin 2 and 3 for 15-20 sec and then put back on to 1 and 2 and replace battery and turn on press DEL for BiosSETUP.

    I did all this and it got my back to the same screen except the Press Del for setup Writing as gone from the American Megrends screen where it shows what the drives are detected. Not the post Boot screen
     
  10. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Just thought I would add that the BBS Is for Boot Selection Popup menu but when I click that it still gets stuck on the same screen it just changes the writing from Press F8 for BBS POPUP to Boot Selection Popup Menu as been selected and then nothing happens.
     
  11. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Click? You have mouse support before entering the BIOS?
    RF123
     
  12. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Sorry!! I meant press F8
     
  13. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Are you or are you not able to enter the BIOS?

    If not, have edit: you end edit reset the BIOS using a jumper and / or removing the battery on the motherboard?

    RF123
     
  14. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    I can't enter the Bios at all. I did do the jumper pin to reset them and kept my finger on DEL but it just brought me to the same Post boot screen. I'm going to figure out how I can get the webcam pictures from flipping and I will get you some pictures.
     
  15. mbarnby90

    mbarnby90 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086566

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice