1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Stuck On Windows Screen

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by mikequest3, Apr 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mikequest3

mikequest3 Thread Starter

Hello

I am new to win 10, I was moving around it learning on my own & ran into a problem.
    On the Securities tab found in the Properties of "Windows" folder, I removed all groups & usernames from the list.
    The computer hung-up, after rebooting it is stuck on the blue window screen with the dots going around in circles... but does not load.
    The machine gives me option to run a few tools; I have tried SFC /scannow, system restore, image restore, etc - but it hasn't fixed it. Even Reset PC option fails after 1%.
    One option allows me to explore the files on the PC, so I have re-inserted permissions for SYSTEM, ALL APPLICATION PACKAGE, CREATOR OWNER, ADMINISTRATORS & my username giving them full control; in the "Windows" folder properties from there. Cant remember more usernames or groups; and am unable to re-insert TrustedInstaller...
    I do not have the OS disc.
    Please Advise :)

2. DaveA

DaveA Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    David
    I would say the best method is to reinstall the OS and all programs.
    Hope you have a good backup of all of your data.

You may have to use the Restore to Factory settings".

3. jenae

jenae

Hi, if you can boot to the RE (recovery environment) and it looks like you can, from here you can try a regback restore, restores the registry to before the event, if you are lucky. Win 10 makes a complete registry backup every 7-10 days(depends on how often you restart) we can restore this.

Copied from my notes, if you can boot to the RE do so, then go to the bcdedit cmd.